Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Zombicide» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flashlight when drawn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stacey Shame
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Our group is debating if drawing the flashlight card awards you the second search immediately (in that same turn). One player states it should award the second card until it is used the next turn. Has anyone clarified this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo Alves
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
search with a flashlight equipped allows you to choose between 2 cards when performing a search action.

if you equip the flashlight you already made your choice. so i dont think it is right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hank Loyd
United States
Owasso
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, in order to use it you have to have it equipped, not when you draw. Course they say you can make "house rules"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Certainly not. The Flashlight needs to be in your inventory for it to take effect. When you first find a Flashlight, your Search is already done, so it can't be further affected by the Flashlight you've just drawn.

And just to correct what Gustavo said, the Flashlight allows you to draw two cards, and you can choose to keep both of them if you want to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stacey Shame
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
by equipped you mean have it in hand? Cuz that's not right. You can use it if it is in reserve.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Cooper
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Mage Wars: Beastmaster's Pet
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can use a flashlight when you are holding it in your mouth to give you two hands free, and when it is tucked away in your backpack - but not when you have just picked it up - you're only allowed one search action per turn, and you would have already used it up to find the torch.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can also stack flashlights! So if you have two of them you can draw three cards per search!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Le Jeune
Belgium
Namur
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonahmaul wrote:
You can also stack flashlights! So if you have two of them you can draw three cards per search!


Thaissa with 2 flashlights, her free search and destiny is like having Santa on your team!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, sorry, I didn't mean "equipped in hand", merely in your inventory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
is that correct that multiple flashlights all add a card to the search?
we always play that it only ever adds 1 card, regardless if you have 1 or 2 flashlights
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
is that correct that multiple flashlights all add a card to the search?
we always play that it only ever adds 1 card, regardless if you have 1 or 2 flashlights


Yes it's correct. GG answered that question in my Season 1 'big Questions for...' thread, IIRC.

It might even be in the FAQ too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
The heroes we deserve!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Further clarification, searching with the flashlight means you must draw 1 additional card. You may keep one, both, or none of the equipment you find. However, if you find an Arrggghhh! card (or cards) you must place a zombie, you cannot ignore it. If you draw an Arrggghhh! on your first card you may still draw the additional card.

In other words, a flashlight may help you find more stuff, but it may also attract more zombies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Watterson
England
flag msg tools
mb
(related question)

Two players in the same room, one has a flashlight, does a search and comes up with shotgun and a fire axe. He only has one space free so keeps the shotgun and discards the axe.

My question is this, is there any way for the other player to get their hands on that just dropped axe ? Or is it game-rule that a discarded item goes into the discarded card pile, thus that axe is pickupable.

I know I could create a house rule allowing the picking up of dropped items, but just want to confirm what the official line is.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Cooper
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Mage Wars: Beastmaster's Pet
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules don't allow the dropped item to be found again immediately, so we make sure that the person with the flashlight has the capacity for keeping both items he finds where possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.