Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Any Grognards in Springfield, MO Willing To Help a Newish Wargamer? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zigi Hogan
United States
The Ozarks
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
What's it going to be then, eh?
mbmbmbmbmb

Let me start this with the fact that I am not a total and complete noob by any means. I played Blitzkrieg and Midway back in the late 70's and early 80's. I came back to gaming 3 years ago (give or take) and, of course, played mostly Euro's since coming back (not that there is anything wrong with that).

I have many frequent gaming partners but only for Euro's or lighter Ameri-Trash games and only one who will play any wargame more complex than Memoir '44 (which I do love, but is a limited wargame strategically). I have one gaming partner who is also wanting to spread his wings into wargames.

However, neither of us have much experience with the more complex wargames (aside from those previously mentioned. And he is a long time RPG player) so neither of us shy away from complexity but are a little lost on where to begin or with some of the more unusual wargame rules.

I was hoping someone in the area would be willing to meet at a LGS here in Springfield (I live 3 blocks from GCE if you are familiar) for a few wargame sessions. You will not be subjected to young players by any means (the youngest of our group is 29 and I am 41) so you won't have inattentive youngsters to contend with. You would mainly be teaching and helping me learn to understand wargames more deeply.

I own and have played: Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear! (second edition), 1940, Battle for Moscow (second edition). These are the ones that I am actively playing.

I own but have not played: Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1, No Retreat! The Russian Front and Sniper! (second edition).