Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

A Study in Emerald» Forums » Rules

Subject: Going mad rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jan Dudulski
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules says:

Quote:
If there are no more Sanity counters left
and you are required to draw one then it is
presumed you have gained enough ‘Mad’
counters to reveal yourself. If you are a
Loyalist and your secret identity has been
revealed then you only draw Sanity counters
to determine whether an agent of yours dies
while carrying out an assassination of a royal
‘person’. In all other cases you do not draw
any counters.


Does it mean that:

* if there are no sanity counters left, after assissination of a royal person agent is dead automatically?
* if there are no sanity counters left, after hidding a royal, player doesn't make sanity check?
* if you're revealed as Restoriatonists, you don't make sanity check after royal assassination? (and why Loyalist would like to kill royal?!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrius is Lietuvos
Lithuania
Kaunas
flag msg tools
Last played: Steam: Great Britain, Eurorails, Kingdom Builder:Nomads
badge
Thinking over my next move :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand it in a way that if there are no more sanity counters left and let's assume you have only one "mad" counter, after you perform an action which requires you to draw one, you are immediately "mad". Acts like the third "mad" counter. If it was an assassination with your agent, he/she dies. You also reveal your identity. If you are a restorationist - game over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes, I'd say so. You have to draw a counter, and it says "Mad".

2. Yes, you do. "You also draw a Sanity counter in the same way", says the rulebook.

3. After assassinating royalty, you make a Sanity check. If you're a Restorationist, you still draw a Sanity counter.

And why wouldn't a Loyalist kill royals? Consider it a false flag operation. That's one less royal person for the Restorationists to kill... And you lose nothing. (You also gain nothing: you get the points, but lose them as soon as you're outed as a Loyalist.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Dudulski
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for quick reply!

One more questions - which are these other cases?: In all other cases you do not draw any counters
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It refers to this: "If you are a Loyalist and your secret identity has been revealed then you only draw Sanity counters to determine whether an agent of yours dies while carrying out an assassination of a royal ‘person’."

So:

1) If you are a Loyalist
2) your secret identity has been revealed

you only draw sanity counters to

3) determine whether an agent of yours dies while carrying out an assassination of a royal ‘person’.

So when 1) and 2) are true, in any other case where you'd usually draw a Sanity counter, you don't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Dudulski
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hah, now everything is clear Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.