Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aragorn's ability vs. "The Necromancer's Reach" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dirch Magle Pedersen
Denmark
Odense C
Unspecified
flag msg tools
When u use Aragorn's ability, when exactly does it happend?? before or after reveals a encounter card??

If the treachery Card "The Necromancer's Reach" is reveal in in quest phase, does Aragorn then get 1 damage, or is he save if he had used his ability??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He is safe, his ability triggers when you commit him to the quest, the Necromancer's Reach triggers when revealed. By that time Aragorn has already been committed to the quest and is adventuring happily(or not).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
In detail:

- First player taps whoever they want to commit to the quest (all of them, any order)
- anyone (mostly FP themselves) play responses to those commitments. Again in any order (axiomatically, since original order-of-tapping is not tracked information)(this is why Theodred can feed empty Aragorn)
- next player does the same etc
- now that that's done, start to stage. There are no opportunities for actions whatsoever here (not between cards, and certainly not in response to cards - this isn't Magic), so now will be too late to use the ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To echo what's already been said, Aragorn's ability is a Response to when he commits to the quest. You have to choose whether or not to use his ability at that time. If you hadn't readied Aragorn when he committed to the quest, it's too late to use his ability during staging.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirch Magle Pedersen
Denmark
Odense C
Unspecified
flag msg tools
thanks :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.