Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Petrification and assigning damage to multiple units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
hakan Christensen
msg tools
very simple.. if i block a medusa´s attack with a unit that has less armor than she has attack, the unit gets destroyed; the wounds that carry over to your hero, or another unit, will they also still have petrification or is that ability consumed on the unit it destroys?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seneijashuu wrote:
very simple.. if i block a medusa´s attack with a unit that has less armor than she has attack, the unit gets destroyed; the wounds that carry over to your hero, or another unit, will they also still have petrification or is that ability consumed on the unit it destroys?

The petrification carries over.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot partially block an enemy's attack, so there would be no damage reduction to speak of in the first place. There is no such thing as an unsuccessful block.

A unit's armor doesn;t factor into blocking of an attack, the unit would need to have a Block ability in order to block using whatever amount of Block it has.

Sounds like a combination of 2 or 3 rule mistakes. I highly suggest reading the combat section of the rules again.


Poster used a game term incorrectly, leading to confusion on my part. Nothing to see here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
hakan Christensen
msg tools
well i chose not to block and just to assign damage...

but okay if petrification carries over, then ew.. -.-
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip
Canada
Moncton
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike,

I think you've misread the original question, he never said he was blocking. he was assigning damage


And to answer the question, yes petrification carries over.

But if the 2nd unit has Physical resistance.. and it's enough armor to not get wounded. then the 2nd unit would not be destroy because it didn't get wounded.

Medusa Attack of 6 Petrification
No Block
Assign damage to Foresters, (4 armor)
Foresters are destroy, 2 damage left over with Petrification

Assign damage to Illusionist, (2 armor, physical resistance)
Because of the physical resistance, the unit can ignore 2 physical damage. The unit is not wounded so not destroyed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You'll Never Walk Alone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seneijashuu wrote:
very simple.. if i block a medusa´s attack with a unit that has less armor than she has attack,...

Actually, the OP did say block. But, I think it's pretty clear that's not what was meant (and the OP clarifies in his/her second post).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
morni wrote:
I think you've misread the original question, he never said he was blocking.


Actually, he clearly did.

seneijashuu wrote:
if i block a medusa´s attack with a unit



But I see what you mean now, he simply used the term blocking incorrectly.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
hakan Christensen
msg tools
well i did phrase it a bit wrong but neverminds...

uhm so that frost dragon is a real bitch here....

thanks for clarifying..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Bulacz
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seneijashuu wrote:

uhm so that frost dragon is a real bitch here....


You didn't meet Dragon summoner yet, did you?

But that's dragons...
They supposed to be hard to kill
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
seneijashuu wrote:
well i did phrase it a bit wrong but neverminds...

uhm so that frost dragon is a real bitch here....

thanks for clarifying..


Frost dragon is a real bitch until you learn the Fireball spell
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Illusionists are also you friends
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.