Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Byzantium» Forums » Rules

Subject: More Byzantium Questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
Could not find an answer to the following, so hope someone can help!

1. Special Action. How many of the SAME special action can be used in the same round? eg. There is only one civil war action for the Byzantines. If a player choses it, can another player chose it again in the same round? If not, does it mean that there can only be one Byzantine civil war per round?

2. Move/Attack.
a. Byzantine army moves to uncontrolled Byzantine town. Is this possible? If so, does this require civil war? If not, does it mean a seige must take place? If so, then does it mean the invading player, if he wins, will earn money & points= city minus one?

b. Byzantine army movement. Can Byzantine army move through uncontrolled Byzantine city without laying seige? Assume Byzantine army cannot move through Byzantine city controlled by opponent?

3. Defense.
Does player add strength of levies to strength of city? eg. City=3. Levies=2. Does player roll 5 dice?

Thanks!
MAC
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oriol Garcia

Barcelona
msg tools
designer
Avatar
1. (page 3 in the rulebook, under C. Special Actions)

"A Special Action can only be selected once per turn, so once there is a player's cube in the box it cannot be selected again until the next turn." So, there can only be one Byzantine Civil War per turn.

2.
a. (page 4 & 5)

"A Field Army can move from its present city to any city that is directly connected to it by some link [Remember though that Byz. armies can also move from Constantinople to any city touching the Med or the Black Sea] ... Note that a player can move his Field Army to a city that is the same colour as the city he moved from and that is controlled by another player, or that is not yet controlled."
Thus, it doesn't require neither a civil war nor a siege. You're just moving there, that's all.

b. See previous answer.

3. No. The players fights first with his Levy (in case the player chose not to fight with his Field Army if there was one) and, if the Levy is defeated, then the siege attack takes place. Remember that fighting with your Levy is not mandatory, is optional.

Hope this helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
Thanks much!

Your answers really help!

From your answers, I now understand the following...

Byzantine movement/attack:

1) A player can move his Byzantine field army to another (Byzantine) city, whether it is controlled by himself, another player, or not controlled.

2) If he moves to another city that is not controlled, he may end the turn there but does not control the city. To control the city, he can use the "control city" action and just place his marker on the uncontrolled city like any uncontrolled city. Can he also control the city by selecting the "civil war" special action against an uncontrolled city? If so, does it mean that when he wins, he gets money and points (city strength - 1)?

3) So a player can end his turn in a city controlled by another player (with no field army) and not have to invoke civil war? If so, can the player controlling the city do anything to remove the field army?

Thanks much!
MAC
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Hudson
United States
Vermilion
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
macedwin wrote:
Thanks much!

Your answers really help!

From your answers, I now understand the following...

Can he also control the city by selecting the "civil war" special action against an uncontrolled city? If so, does it mean that when he wins, he gets money and points (city strength - 1)?

3) So a player can end his turn in a city controlled by another player (with no field army) and not have to invoke civil war? If so, can the player controlling the city do anything to remove the field army?

Thanks much!
MAC



2. yes

3. Yes (you can end your turn in a city controlled by another player even if their field army is there). Civil war.

[EDIT} the usual
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
Thanks much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.