Just to be sure, I have a discussion about that with my fellow player:
With the second amelioration of movement, I can move within two tiles in any direction (same level) and finish the movement between the second and the third. Am i correct?
If yes, I guess it can trigger an extraction on the third tile and I move my team on it. Am i correct?
Thanks in advance
You are correct.
You're actually allowed two lateral movements after the
The second upgrade allows you to finish one of those two
movements in-between two tiles.
When a player gets the final movement upgrade, he could go down
(or up) one tile, and then move laterally for his second
movement to finish in-between two tiles.
I was under the impression that straddling 2 tiles requires one of your lateral movements. So in jean's example above "I can move within two tiles in any direction (same level) and finish the movement between the second and the third", I'm thinking he is NOT correct, because if he wanted to straddle, he would only move 1 space (left or right) and then with his second movement he could straddle between the 1st and 2nd tiles (not the 2nd and 3rd). Which is correct?
Also, this might be covered in the rules, but the question just occurs to me: when moving 2 spaces left or right can the crew trigger an extraction with his first space, and then continue to move his second space? (which may or may not ALSO trigger an extraction). so, can you actually trigger two extractions with a single movement (of two spaces)?
Just played my kickstarter version for the first time last night, and everyone really enjoyed it. We played 3 player, and thought it might be an even better game with 4 than with 3. We did find that 1 player always being left out of the stock market is pretty harsh... and the stock market was always the first to fill up with VPs... maybe we'll discover alternate strategies as we play more often, but it seems the market is a MUST in order to gain upgrades (you need the cash) or to be able to purchase cubes to make achievements. Had you considered adding an additional space to the market with 1 action (like on the 3rd board) so that people aren't penalized quite so badly? It doesn't seem like the bribery or extra drill crew makes up for missing out on the market because the bribery gives the other player some of the resources, and the drill crew costs so much money (that you don't have because you can't go to the market).
Thanks for backing ROCKWELL during the KS !
As for your questions :
- Maybe I didn't make myself clear when I answered Jean, so here goes:
When a player gets the 2nd Mobility upgrade, he obviously bought the
1st one too. So let's say Blue is on Terrain tile 'A'. He moves to tile
'B' (same stratum) for his first movement, and then ends his turn in-between
tile 'B' and 'C'. In my answer to Jean, 2nd and 3rd tile = 'B' and 'C'.
Does that make more sense ?
- An extraction occurs at the end of a Drilling crew movement; thus, a
player that could trigger an extraction on tiles 'B' or 'C' has to choose
cause as soon as he does, he cannot move any further.
- Yes we considered that (and tested it) but it GREATLY reduced the
actual tension of going sooner than later (or not !) to the market.
With 3 spaces, all the players knew that no matter what, they'll be
able to sell (or buy) at least one type of ressource every turn.
The way it is played in the rules, as you know, if you need money, you
DEFINITELY need to bid high and place a VP accordingly.
For my part, when I play, I rarely go to the market more than once
every two turns. But let me tell you : I really wanna be 1st or 2nd
there when I go !
I'm glad you & your group iiked the game. The 4-player version is
slightly better if only because there is more interaction.
Let me know how it goes !
I am sorry, I still have doubts about straddling.
For my question on straddling, forget about vertical movement i.e stick to the same stratum.
There are 8 subterrain tiles; lets call them 1,2,3....8.
I have a crew on tile 4.
Basic movement I can move to 3 or 5 ( or stay on 4)
1st advancement I can move to 2,3,5 or 6 ( or stay on 4)
2nd advancement I can do the above or straddle 1/2 or straddle 6/7.
is this correct?
I can I only straddle 2/3 or 5/6?
( and so we all back the kickstarter on 1st December)
No need to be sorry, and thanks for playing !
Your 2nd hypothesis is correct.
Once you reach the 2nd movement upgrade, from
tile #4 you may finish your crew's movement
either on #5, #6 or between #5 and #6 (or
between #2 and #3, of course).
Hope you enjoy !
The Kickstarter campaign for the expansion (The Fluctuating Market) has just been launched! Here is the link: