Steven Weller
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have two characters at one location, valeros and ezren. It is valeros' turn and he explorea to reveal a spell. As it is no good for him, can ezren do the roll to aquire or is it lost?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Perry Clayton
United States
Hanceville
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not necessarily lost - only the active character can attempt to acquire it, but so long as there's an Intelligence or Wisdom check option anyone can try and get it - even if it needs a Blessing thrown in for additional dice (and anyone can throw in the Blessing). later on it can be passed on to someone who can make more use of it.

In our games Valeros seems to be making a habit of picking up spells...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Hedges
United Kingdom
Penrith
Cumbria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's Valeros' turn, so he takes the test to acquire. If Ezren really wants it, he's free to add a blessing, or anything else that can legally effect Valeros' roll.


Imagine Valeros is first into the room looking for clues. He throws a pile of books aside looking for something of interest. In the process he rips a a scroll which would have been of interest to his allies, but he is unaware... or something blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Who
msg tools
mb
Wulf Corbett wrote:
It's not necessarily lost - only the active character can attempt to acquire it, but so long as there's an Intelligence or Wisdom check option anyone can try and get it -


as long as it's the character who flipped it over that is trying it

that card is removed if the check fails, and nobody else can try for it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fromper Fromper
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Everyone should read the FAQ, which happens to include this relevant section:

Quote:
No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it. No other character can evade it, defeat it, acquire it, close it, decide what to do with it, or fail at doing any of those things. If Sajan encounters a monster, Merisiel can’t evade it for him. If Kyra encounters a Goblin, Seoni can’t attempt the check to defeat it. If Valeros encounters a Spyglass, Harsk can’t attempt the check to acquire it. If Ezren defeats a henchman at the Sandpoint Cathedral, Seelah can’t discard a blessing to close the location. If the game tells you to do something, you have to do it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan T
United States
Forest
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It should be noted that other characters at the same location can help if there is a monster which requires two checks to defeat. The rule in that case is that the active character must perform at least one of the checks.

But that doesn't apply for boons since there are no boons that require two checks. I wonder if that will change in the future.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Kupper
United States
La Crosse
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wulf Corbett wrote:
It's not necessarily lost - only the active character can attempt to acquire it, but so long as there's an Intelligence or Wisdom check option anyone can try and get it - even if it needs a Blessing thrown in for additional dice (and anyone can throw in the Blessing). later on it can be passed on to someone who can make more use of it.

In our games Valeros seems to be making a habit of picking up spells...


Doesn't he have to discard it, as he doesn't have the Arcane/Divine skill?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proto Persona
United States
N Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ergonomic Cat wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
It's not necessarily lost - only the active character can attempt to acquire it, but so long as there's an Intelligence or Wisdom check option anyone can try and get it - even if it needs a Blessing thrown in for additional dice (and anyone can throw in the Blessing). later on it can be passed on to someone who can make more use of it.

In our games Valeros seems to be making a habit of picking up spells...


Doesn't he have to discard it, as he doesn't have the Arcane/Divine skill?
Nope, only when Valeros casts them does he do that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Proto Persona wrote:
Ergonomic Cat wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
In our games Valeros seems to be making a habit of picking up spells...
Doesn't he have to discard it, as he doesn't have the Arcane/Divine skill?
Nope, only when Valeros casts them does he do that.
Right, he picks them up, hangs on to them (discards when needed for hand size), then passes them on if he's still got them either in hand when in the same space as Seoni or Lini (our 2 spell slingers), or after the scenario.

Although there's been a massive drought in spells in the last few scenarios... shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Kupper
United States
La Crosse
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Proto Persona wrote:
Ergonomic Cat wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
It's not necessarily lost - only the active character can attempt to acquire it, but so long as there's an Intelligence or Wisdom check option anyone can try and get it - even if it needs a Blessing thrown in for additional dice (and anyone can throw in the Blessing). later on it can be passed on to someone who can make more use of it.

In our games Valeros seems to be making a habit of picking up spells...


Doesn't he have to discard it, as he doesn't have the Arcane/Divine skill?
Nope, only when Valeros casts them does he do that.


Was actually coming to delete this question, because I read the FAQ. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daarck Worgen
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Wulf Corbett wrote:
Proto Persona wrote:
Ergonomic Cat wrote:
Wulf Corbett wrote:
In our games Valeros seems to be making a habit of picking up spells...
Doesn't he have to discard it, as he doesn't have the Arcane/Divine skill?
Nope, only when Valeros casts them does he do that.
Right, he picks them up, hangs on to them (discards when needed for hand size), then passes them on if he's still got them either in hand when in the same space as Seoni or Lini (our 2 spell slingers), or after the scenario.

Although there's been a massive drought in spells in the last few scenarios... shake


Valeros - and any other non-magic using character - can cast spells if they acquire any. It's to be taken as if they are reading a scroll; the only difference is they CANNOT attempt to recharge it, and MUST banish it once used (like Ezran cannot recharge Divine spells) - again, as though a scroll has been expended.

At the very least, if a non-magic user is struggling for health and gets a spell card, it counts as hit points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.