Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Settlers of Catan: The Fishermen of Catan» Forums » Rules

Subject: What about the robber? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bjørn Losvik
Norway
Ulsteinvik
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you roll a seven, can you place the robberarrrh on a fishing ground tile?
My game group discussed this, and we decided that we can. Since you get resources from it, we think the robber can go there to.

What do you say?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
We haven't played that way, but I think it's reasonable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hawks
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say no. It just doesn't feel right to me; the fishing grounds are really a different thing from the resource hexes, and I think if Teuber intended that the Robber be allowed to block a fishing ground, the rules would have explicitly mentioned it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Paull
United States
Cumming
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
agreed, Chris.

The rules state that the existing rules to SvC are in effect...with the following exceptions...

and the exceptions do not allow the Robber to be placed on a fish spot

--JP
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bjørn Losvik
Norway
Ulsteinvik
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your points of view!

But what if you play with the Seafarer expansion? Then you can place the robber on a sea tile, and if its a fishing ground there, you won't get any fish. Agree?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hawks
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the Robber can never move to a sea hex; he's restricted to land. However, if you play with Seafarers, you have the Pirate to work with. You could easily make a house rule where the Pirate blocks fishing grounds -- it makes sense, in a way, and also makes the Pirate a little more useful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.