Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Council of Verona» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rosaline and the Poison Expansion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shawn George
United States
Toledo
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Open your eyes...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just got my copy in the mail a little while ago, and looking through the rules for everything, I managed to come up with one question: Does Rosaline score if Romeo and/or Juliet are dead? The rules mention that Romeo and Juliet don't score if they're both dead, but they don't say anything about this.

Thematically, it would make sense for Rosaline to score if Juliet is dead and Romeo is still alive, however, I think that might upset the game balance between the Capulets and Montagues.

So I'd like to think that Rosaline's agenda can only be fulfilled if both characters are alive, but in separate places. What do you guys think?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Nickell
United States
Bothell
WA
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rosaline's agenda would indeed be met and influence tokens on her would score if either Romeo or Juliet is dead since they don't end up together. Rosaline is better and there is no end to her evil and sinister plans. devil
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn George
United States
Toledo
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Open your eyes...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
unlpat wrote:
Rosaline's agenda would indeed be met and influence tokens on her would score if either Romeo or Juliet is dead since they don't end up together. Rosaline is better and there is no end to her evil and sinister plans. devil


What if they're both dead?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Dave
United States
Ogden
UT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Putts wrote:
unlpat wrote:
Rosaline's agenda would indeed be met and influence tokens on her would score if either Romeo or Juliet is dead since they don't end up together. Rosaline is better and there is no end to her evil and sinister plans. devil


What if they're both dead?


I think, thematically, that means they're together.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Pierce
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
whattheproblemis wrote:
Putts wrote:
unlpat wrote:
Rosaline's agenda would indeed be met and influence tokens on her would score if either Romeo or Juliet is dead since they don't end up together. Rosaline is better and there is no end to her evil and sinister plans. devil


What if they're both dead?


I think, thematically, that means they're together.


Actually, in the rules it spells out that both dead does NOT count for scoring as together...gotta be around to enjoy it!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SQ
United States
Show Low
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Titan Dice in Kickstarter - September 19th!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lexpierce wrote:
whattheproblemis wrote:
Putts wrote:
unlpat wrote:
Rosaline's agenda would indeed be met and influence tokens on her would score if either Romeo or Juliet is dead since they don't end up together. Rosaline is better and there is no end to her evil and sinister plans. devil


What if they're both dead?


I think, thematically, that means they're together.


Actually, in the rules it spells out that both dead does NOT count for scoring as together...gotta be around to enjoy it!


Correct. We thought about that when developing the expansion, but decided that "dead" doesn't count as a location.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tan
United States
South San Francisco
CA - California
flag msg tools
badge
There is only one choice and the brave make it. Fly from the path.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Similarly, what if they both end up in the box? (As part of the initial discard, and the last discard)

This happened last night and I ruled that they ended up together (as they ran away while their families were busy feuding.)

Edit: Grammar
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SQ
United States
Show Low
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Titan Dice in Kickstarter - September 19th!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
discordjack wrote:
Similarly, what if they both end up in the box? (As part of the initial discard, and the last discard)

This happened last night and I ruled that they ended up together (as they ran away while their family were busily feuding.)


Whoa! That means they weren't dealt out, were then passed up for each round of the drafting, and the last player got rid of both of them.

Technically, they are not considered "together," but even if they were, there is no place to put the Influence tokens because they would be face down.

That said, your logic is pretty sound.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tan
United States
South San Francisco
CA - California
flag msg tools
badge
There is only one choice and the brave make it. Fly from the path.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
meskue wrote:
discordjack wrote:
Similarly, what if they both end up in the box? (As part of the initial discard, and the last discard)

This happened last night and I ruled that they ended up together (as they ran away while their family were busily feuding.)


Whoa! That means they weren't dealt out, were then passed up for each round of the drafting, and the last player got rid of both of them.

Technically, they are not considered "together," but even if they were, there is no place to put the Influence tokens because they would be face down.

That said, your logic is pretty sound.


Yeah, but for Rosaline it does matter (that tramp.) So she would score (speaking in game terms)?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SQ
United States
Show Low
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Titan Dice in Kickstarter - September 19th!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
discordjack wrote:
meskue wrote:
discordjack wrote:
Similarly, what if they both end up in the box? (As part of the initial discard, and the last discard)

This happened last night and I ruled that they ended up together (as they ran away while their family were busily feuding.)


Whoa! That means they weren't dealt out, were then passed up for each round of the drafting, and the last player got rid of both of them.

Technically, they are not considered "together," but even if they were, there is no place to put the Influence tokens because they would be face down.

That said, your logic is pretty sound.


Yeah, but for Rosaline it does matter (that tramp.) So she would score (speaking in game terms)?


Good point, I was focused on the love birds and forgot about the home wrecker. It isn't specifically mentioned and you could house-rule it like that if you want. However, the spirit of the game is that they are either on the Council together or in Exile together. Being dead (which was specifically mentioned) or being out of the game would be considered *not* together - and Rosaline would score. Her modifiers are in the negative because her objective is fairly easy to accomplish.

Edited for clarity
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tan
United States
South San Francisco
CA - California
flag msg tools
badge
There is only one choice and the brave make it. Fly from the path.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, that's what we thought. She's free and easy [points.] Thanks for clearing that up for me!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.