Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Space discard held card bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mak
United Kingdom
London
Much Hadham
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Something came up the other day. Can the space bonus be used to discard a scoring card you dont want to play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max DuBoff
United States
New Brunswick
New Jersey
flag msg tools
"My name is Ozymandias, king of kings: / Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!"
badge
Habeo in animo vivere in perpetuum aut mori dum conor.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.


Scoring cards may not be held cards.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreu "Juan Guilloto"
Spain
Barcelona
Catalunya
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

To play a card in the space race is necessary it has a value in ops (2-4). As Scoring Cards have no ops value, they can't be used here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
That wasn't the question, Juan
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Cannone
Italy
Cerignola
Foggia
flag msg tools
Oh yeah!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you can't 'bause you need "operation points" and Scoring Cards don't have any of them
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That wasn't the question, Michele
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Which space bonus, the one that increases hand size (so more cards held) or the one that allows two discards using the space race track (which the question suggests)?

Anyway nothing in the rules suggests any change to how scoring cards must be dealt with so I see no reason why there should be any exception to the answer 'no'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This Space Race Bonus allows player to discard an held card.

But, just before, if you own a Scoring card at the end of the Turn, this card becomes instantly an "Held Card"...and you lose...before being able to discard it...
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Cannone
Italy
Cerignola
Foggia
flag msg tools
Oh yeah!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My bad
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.