Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Noob question: critical hit on X-wing with shields rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MATTHEW SPRING
England
Truro
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

Very quick question: a Tie-fighter inflicts one critical hit on an X-Wing with a single shield. What happens?

1) The X-Wing loses the shield, but does *not* sustain the critical hit.

2) The X-Wing loses the shield, and *does* sustain a critical hit.

Many thanks for any response.

Cheers,
Matt
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor J
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Option 1, it just takes a shield.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Boardgamer
Australia
Perth
Western Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If shields didn't block criticals they would technically just be extra hull points. This is why shields are actually good to have.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Omar Germino
United States
Schaumburg
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with the answers above.

Just as clarification, however, it sounds like you may be confusing a "critical hit" with the "direct hit" damage card.

A critical hit in itself does not deal two points of damage. However, if that critical hit were to be a direct hit, then the card says that it counts as two damage points.

In your situation, because the shield blocks the critical hit from even being resolved, no damage card is dealt, and we avoid the questions raised if we flip over a direct hit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MATTHEW SPRING
England
Truro
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all for the clarification. And thanks, Omar, but I was in fact simply referring to one regular critical damage result (the 'hollow' explosion). The chaps have confirmed my suspicion that a critical damage result applies only to craft with no shields; otherwise it merely becomes a regular damage result, which takes one shield token.

Presumably a craft with one shield that sustains two critical damage results would lose one shield and take one critical damage?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Omar Germino
United States
Schaumburg
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hismhs wrote:
Presumably a craft with one shield that sustains two critical damage results would lose one shield and take one critical damage?

That's right. In the case that the damage were 1 regular and 1 critical, the shield would be lost, and the critical damage hit sustained, because regular damage is resolved before critical hits.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MATTHEW SPRING
England
Truro
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, brill! Got it - thanks for that, Omar.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.