Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Cutthroat Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: When drawing back up to 7 and Critical Miss? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You will place the potion down as soon as you get it.
but do you get to keep drawing till you have 7 cards (again)?

If you critical miss a special card with extra abilities on the card.
Does it CANCEL the whole card? or the text effect should still happen?

Timing of critical miss.... when can you use it to cancel?
can you make the attack a critical miss even after everyone flip all their set card over and before damage is substracted from the monster?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
exqcme wrote:
You will place the potion down as soon as you get it.
but do you get to keep drawing till you have 7 cards (again)?


No. However, since it does not count against your hand max, the next turn you get to drawn up to seven not counting the potions on the table. (Confirmed by the designer here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/8590105#8590105)

Quote:
If you critical miss a special card with extra abilities on the card.
Does it CANCEL the whole card? or the text effect should still happen?


pg. 8 of the rule book (I just realized the rulebook doesn't have page numbers. ?!):

Quote:
An unsuccessful attack is one that is either prevented from being played by 'Edge Out' or cancelled (a miss) by cards like 'Critical Miss' or 'Trip'. The Attack Cards are discarded immediately. Such unsuccessful attacks are effectively ignored by the creatures. They neither 'Hit' nor do damage and are not considered '0' damage attacks.


In other words, it cancels the whole card.

Quote:
Timing of critical miss.... when can you use it to cancel?
can you make the attack a critical miss even after everyone flip all their set card over and before damage is substracted from the monster?


Critical Miss card reads:

Quote:
Play on another player after they play their Attack Card...


In other words, it only works on one player and then only when they flip their Attack Card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you, Scott!

So with critical miss + double strike.


If for example...
Double strike is played, and critical miss was NOT played against it.
2 cards are setted.

If now, i feel like that the damage is too high and could possibly finish the encounter. If you choose to play critical miss now, you can only cancel ONE of the two newly set attack card, not the previously played double strike?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Covert
United States
Sandy Hook
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Critical Miss spoils all attacks this Round - so yes, it is best to wait until the two attack cards replace Double Strike (and technically, those cards are never 'set' so what you can't do is play Edge Out on them. That only works on the original, set Double Strike card.)

Curt
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait.. So critical miss can be played to cancel all attack cards? Even double strike' both replace card?

Do all riders and multiplidr all disappear as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Covert
United States
Sandy Hook
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. Printed right on the card. Their attacks ALL miss. Riders are discarded as well. Nasty, right?
Curt
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Smirky wrote:
Yep. Printed right on the card. Their attacks ALL miss. Riders are discarded as well. Nasty, right?
Curt


too too nasty.

so you could wait till the damage are to be deducted from the monster to critical miss?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Covert
United States
Sandy Hook
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a short moment of opportunity to decide after the cards are revealed. But if you don't take the opportunity or at least ask for a hold as you decide, it is too late once the next player reveals their attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Smirky wrote:
There is a short moment of opportunity to decide after the cards are revealed. But if you don't take the opportunity or at least ask for a hold as you decide, it is too late once the next player reveals their attack.


good to know!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Covert
United States
Sandy Hook
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to avoid all confusion (as I reread this thread) the aforementioned window of opportunity exists as each player reveals his card(s), not once, after all players have revealed. You can't go back in time to prevent a players attack that you allowed to go through earlier. You must react at the time they played it. I simply was trying to make sure people did not think there was a 'speed' element to play. There isn't. You just ask the next player to hold a second as you decide if you are going to allow the current attack to get through.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.