Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vincent Graham
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sure this topic has been touched on many times in these forums yet I would like to add my comments for no other reason than perhaps to vent to others who may have experienced feelings such as mine.

I am fairly new to board gaming, I started in February of this year. I don't recall how but I had stumbled upon a board game in my closet that I had forgotten that I had. It was The lord of the rings by Reiner Knizia. I had made this purchase on a whim soon after the movies were released but never even opened it. I decided to open the game and began to read the manual. Within paragraphs I stopped due to, what at the time seemed like an overcomplicated mess. My first thought was to sell the game and I googled it to see if perhaps there was some value for it on ebay. This is where Pandora’s box opened.

It was through this simple google search that I stumbled upon blogs, youtube blogs, forums and the like, all discussing the ins and outs of the game and comparing it to others. Others? I was soon entranced with how many games existed. I started to subscribe to popular youtube blogs, listened to podcasts and read forums. I sought to learn the game of The lord of the rings and convinced a friend of mine to play. I LOVED it! We played several times and had a great time. This is how I became a "board game geek", a hobby that I have come to love but tragically a hobby that I would not get to full experience.