Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card Question | Plot Twist - Keep... but discard? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jaime D.
Spain
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,


Sorry if this has been already addressed but I was unable to find anything.

Something with the wording of this card that I can't grasp. I do have the Spanish version of the game so I went to check for the English equivalent and it looks like the translation is accurate.

So, even though is clearly stated that it's a KEEP card, the text describing it says you have to discard it once the action is taken.

Is this consistent/intended?

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Sagel
Netherlands
Groningen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is intended.

With regular "DISCARD" cards, you perform the effect immediately and then discard the card.
The Plot Twist can be kept until you want to use it, but when you do, the effect of the card causes it to be discarded. So it's still a one-shot, but because it's not immediate it cannot be a "DISCARD" card.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaime D.
Spain
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, then....

If you buy a DISCARD card, do you have to do the action immediately, at the end of your turn? Can't you keep it for an upcoming turn?

I think we have been playing this totally wrong.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Almilcar wrote:
Oh, them....

If you buy a DISCARD card, do you have to do the action immediately, at the end of your turn? Can't you keep it for an upcoming turn?

I think we have been playing this totally wrong.

Thanks


Regular Discard cards have to be discard immediately when you purchase them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaime D.
Spain
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonahmaul wrote:
Almilcar wrote:
Oh, them....

If you buy a DISCARD card, do you have to do the action immediately, at the end of your turn? Can't you keep it for an upcoming turn?

I think we have been playing this totally wrong.

Thanks


Regular Discard cards have to be discard immediately when you purchase them.


Ooops! Then we have been playing wrong all this time whistlepD

However, I can't find anywhere in the rules saying that... but makes sense.

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 2 in the top left under 'card description':

Discard: Monsters immediately resolve these cards then discard them

I'm assuming it's in the same place in the Spanish rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaime D.
Spain
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonahmaul wrote:
Page 2 in the top left under 'card description':

Discard: Monsters immediately resolve these cards then discard them

I'm assuming it's in the same place in the Spanish rules.


Yes, you are right. It is exactly there. I think I do have to reread the rules, mainly the examples and boxed texts.

Thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Almilcar wrote:
jonahmaul wrote:
Page 2 in the top left under 'card description':

Discard: Monsters immediately resolve these cards then discard them

I'm assuming it's in the same place in the Spanish rules.


Yes, you are right. It is exactly there. I think I do have to reread the rules, mainly the examples and boxed texts.

Thanks again


No problem, I often find it helpful to re-read rules once I have a bit of experience. However, in the case of KoT I was actually taught to play the game by somebody else before I bought it myself, so credit goes to them for teaching me well!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
jonahmaul wrote:
Almilcar wrote:
jonahmaul wrote:
Page 2 in the top left under 'card description':

Discard: Monsters immediately resolve these cards then discard them

I'm assuming it's in the same place in the Spanish rules.


Yes, you are right. It is exactly there. I think I do have to reread the rules, mainly the examples and boxed texts.

Thanks again


No problem, I often find it helpful to re-read rules once I have a bit of experience. However, in the case of KoT I was actually taught to play the game by somebody else before I bought it myself, so credit goes to them for teaching me well!

You're welcome.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.