Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attack question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Dahl
United States
West Fargo
ND
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I attack a city where my opponent has 2 armies and a setter, with two of my armies. We both kill off each other's armies so the city stays in the possession of my opponent, does the settler die too because the army he was with died?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Jefferies
United States
Oconomowoc
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
My name is Oobydoob Scooby-dooby Banooby. I have the silliest name in the galaxy. (Thumb Wars)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No...the settler would only have been killed if left alone in the space with the invading army.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dahlillama wrote:
If I attack a city where my opponent has 2 armies and a setter, with two of my armies. We both kill off each other's armies so the city stays in the possession of my opponent, does the settler die too because the army he was with died?


Yes. The settler dies with the last army he is with.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Gjerde
Norway
Trondheim
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
http://landnam.old.no
badge
http://old.no
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abredon wrote:
dahlillama wrote:
If I attack a city where my opponent has 2 armies and a setter, with two of my armies. We both kill off each other's armies so the city stays in the possession of my opponent, does the settler die too because the army he was with died?


Yes. The settler dies with the last army he is with.


Though this seems clear from the sentence "Settlers together with friendly Armies are eliminated if the Army is eliminated" in the rules, I think the context shows that the opposite is intended. From the rules (my numbering):

Quote:
1. Settlers cannot fight.

2. If Settlers end up in a space alone with a foreign Army unit, a battle occurs in which any Settlers are defeated automatically (no cards are played or dice rolled).

3. Settlers together with friendly Armies are eliminated if the Army is eliminated.


It seems to me that #3 is just a special case of #2, and thus presupposes that there are remaining foreign Army units in the space.

Edit: however, the official ruling is to follow the more localized and literal interpretation (i.e. Settlers do indeed die), as per the author's reply at http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12305747#12305747
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC ichigo
Thailand
Bangbuathong
Nonthaburi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the settler will die. : )

"Settlers in Combat
Settlers cannot fight .If Settlers end up in a space alone with a for-eign Army unit, a battle occurs in which any Settlers are defeated
automatically (no cards are played or dice rolled) .Settlers together
with friendly Armies are eliminated if the Army is eliminated
.
Likewise a Settler moving with an Army also moves back to where
it came from if the Army ceases to attack ."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Found where Christian answered this:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12305747#12305747
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Dahl
United States
West Fargo
ND
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the input.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.