Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Cops and robbers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: card [+] cards [+] jail [+] robbers [+] chase [+] cops [+] getaway [+] [View All]
Kieran Billings
New Zealand
flag msg tools
designer
Hi all I'm a bit of a newbie here. Lurked a while though.

I've developed a new card game called cops and robbers. The basic premise of the game is to steal as much loot as you can while evading the cops. You "build" a getaway car and try to escape from the cops with the loot from your crime spree.

The game is made of three different decks, a loot deck, a cop deck and a criminal deck. I've had it play tested with some proxy cards and the mechanic work really well. Basically the loot deck determines your game score ranging from $0 through to $200000. The winner is the person with the most cash after a certain time period or you could play to $1000000. The cop deck determines how many cops are chasing you, ranging from 0 cops through to 3. This is affected by the time spent on your crime spree. The criminal cards give you perks basically, to get away from the cops or to throw your mates in jail, I've playtested it with between 2 and 6 players, 4 seems to be an ideal amount.

My brother has designed about half of the cards so far. In fact the entire cop deck is finished and the loot deck too. I'm getting some test copies of these sent to me. It should have about 108 cards by the end, I think about 25-30 unique cards.

I'm planning on setting up a kickstarter some time around Xmas. As this is my first venture and is till have my day job I'm still trying to nail down costings etc. once I figure out how to post pics I'll put some up for people to see.

Cheers

Kieran
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kieran Billings
New Zealand
flag msg tools
designer
Due to popular demand whistle Here are some of the cards that my brother created for me.