Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics» Forums » Rules

Subject: First strike / forming a square rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hugh Davidson
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Here's the situation:

- My opponent's cavalry attacks my infantry

- I play a first strike card

- I don't roll the right dice to cause a cavalry retreat, and my opponent now attacks

Are my infantry allowed to form a square at this point?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Square is formed prior to combat. So the infantry unit must choose square before any combat, First striking or otherwise.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serre combe olivier
France
Marseille
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

if he chooses "first strike"
can he forrme a square the next round ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy N
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combi wrote:

if he chooses "first strike"
can he forrme a square the next round ?


He can form square the next time he's attacked.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fwiw, the rules really do spell this all out, with detail and step-by-step explanation.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh Davidson
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Fwiw, i don't think it's as clear as you're making out. I did consult the rulebook before coming here.

The rules do say that square can't be formed when an infantry unit initiates an attack and the cavalry unit plays the first strike card, but that's a slightly different situation to what I was talking about.

The first strike card explanation at the back of the rules summary just says that if the first strike doesn't repel the attacking player, that they carry out combat as normal (which i took to mean the normal melee combat procedure which also includes 'forming square' as step 3).

I think it was a reasonable question to ask. Thanks for being helpful, though.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy N
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tristano87 wrote:
Here's the situation:
- My opponent's cavalry attacks my infantry
- I play a first strike card
- I don't roll the right dice to cause a cavalry retreat, and my opponent now attacks
Are my infantry allowed to form a square at this point?


It's an either or situation.

If you the play the First Strike card, then your committing to a full compliment of battle dice(based on your block #)& you're battling first. If you choose to go into square, then you only roll one die (regardless of your # of blocks) & you get to battle first.

If you would be able to do both(First Strike + square) then you would actually be battling twice before the original attack could take place.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh Davidson
Australia
Geelong
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks, that's a good way of thinking about it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.