Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Yunnan» Forums » Rules

Subject: About the word “may only” rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
yanliang shi
China
BeiJing
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 4: "You may only place a Trader on a small space (“5” or “7”) if you are the highest bidder."
We have argue with the word "May only".
Did it means only if you r the highest bidder, u can bid on 5 or 7.
Or it means when u r the highest bider, u can only bid on 5 or 7, not directly on 9.
We r not so good at English, need help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Der Malte
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only if you are the highest bidder, you can choose the 5 or 7.
If someone take the 7 (or 9, 12, 15), you can´t take the 5.

You can always take the 9 if nobody else take the 9. If someone place his first bidding on the 12 you can grin and take the 9 (if it´s available).
But if someone take the 9/12/15 you can´t take the 5 or 7.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
robbin van biljouw
Netherlands
den oever
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You "start" entering a progress building on space 5. The first one entering goes on space 5, the second one entering goes on space 7 (this must be an other player than the first), the third one entering the same progress building goes on space 9 (this must be another player then the first two).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
robbin van biljouw
Netherlands
den oever
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So i guess problem not solved!?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
yanliang shi
China
BeiJing
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
robbin 1 wrote:
So i guess problem not solved!?

Yes. So I'm waiting for Aaron Haag.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Haag
Germany
Muenchen
Deutschland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
captaingon wrote:
On page 4: "You may only place a Trader on a small space (“5” or “7”) if you are the highest bidder."
We have argue with the word "May only".
Did it means only if you r the highest bidder, u can bid on 5 or 7.
Or it means when u r the highest bider, u can only bid on 5 or 7, not directly on 9.
We r not so good at English, need help!


What Malte wrote is correct.

A. If nobody else has already placed a bid on a building you are free to chose how much you bid (5, 7, 9, 12, 15 - your choice).

B. If you are not the first bidder on a building and somebody has already bid on either 5 or 7 your bid must be higher than that bid. Example: there is a bid on 7 therefore your bid must be on 9 or higher - you cannot bid on 5.

As a sidenote: In the previous example you could bid on 12 instead of 9. But this is not a good choice, as you must be the highest bidder only if you bid on 5 or 7. Therefore if you bid on 12 instead of 9 somebody else could still bid on 9 in effect paying 3 less than you are.

Robin: there is no strict sequence in bidding values. A player is free to choose where to place his bid as long as (B) above is adhered to. In particular you do not need to start with a 5 bid instead you may immediately place a safe bid (9 or higher) if you have the money.

If still not clear, please ask.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Haag
Germany
Muenchen
Deutschland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robbin,

I just noticed another flaw in your explanation above:

robbin 1 wrote:
... the third one entering the same progress building goes on space 9 (this must be another player then the first two).


No! That could be the first or second player just as well! Remember that traders on spaces 5 and 7 are returned to their players if outbid. Therefore player one and two are again allowed to bid on that progress building because they no longer have a trader there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
yanliang shi
China
BeiJing
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank u for the reply, also thank u for the great game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.