Michael Campbell
United States
Excelsior
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is a Blockade Station part of the Port or part of the Coastal Space?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Schachter
United States
Matthews
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Hi Michael,

A Blockade Station may be entered by Confederate warships departing from its Ocean Port, or in the unique case of the New Orleans Blockade Station, from Fort Jackson & St. Philip.

A Blockade Station is a unique Space. It is not a Port nor part of a Coastal Zone. You'll hopefully find rules regarding Blockade Stations self-explanatory (which are elaborated upon by the Play Book's examples).

However, should you have further inquiries... well, that's what this forum is for!

Enjoy REBEL RAIDERS ON THE HIGH SEAS!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Cammisa
Italy
Monza
MB
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What does happen if a CS warship enters a Blockade Station currently patrolled by UN warships? Does a naval battle take place? Or such a move is not allowed?

Thanks, Luca.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Schachter
United States
Matthews
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Hello Luca,

A Confederate Gunboat or Ironclad entering a Blockade Station would triger immediate resolution of Naval Combat.

This is per rule 10. There's a text box immediately above rule 10.1 which reads: "Initiating Naval Combat against a River Fort or Port requires expenditure of a Cannon pawn (11) or card. No Cannon pawn or card expenditure is required to initiate Naval Combat in any other eligible space."

What you've observed is the possibility of a Confederate "warship sortie" to clear a Blockade Station of Union warships. This would pave the way for Blockade Runners seeking to enter and exit a Blockade Station's Port without possible impediment.

Of course any Confederate warship remaining in a Blockade Station would be fair game for the Union Navy, who could engage it in Naval Combat without needing to expend a Cannon pawn.

Enjoy Rebel Raiders on the High Seas!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Cammisa
Italy
Monza
MB
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks Fred, your answer is precious for my next game as CSA player!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.