Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: A bit confused on focus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Linares

North Carolina
msg tools
Do units that participate in a fight, even if they can't do anything, still get focused? For example, edge dependent units fail to get their icons because you did not get the edge. Also, Corellian Engineer is another good card.

Bonus question: when does shielding happen, before the edge battle or after?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Digger Cook
United States
Topeka
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes all participating units must get focused.

Before, I think.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Olmstead
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shielding happens as soon as the unit with shielding is committed to the engagement.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kleric42 wrote:
Shielding happens as soon as the unit with shielding is committed to the engagement.

Yes, page 25.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schwarz
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You still focus them to attack for 0 damage. If your opponent's annoyed, you might even have to do it one at a time. But, in general, you can just focus them out at the end of combat.

This can also happen if you have unit damage and your opponent has no surviving units.

EDIT: If you remove focus from a unit during an engagement, you need to focus them to attack (again) during the engagement.

Also, you don't need to add a focus token to a unit that's no longer ready, because your opponent tagged it with a tactics icon or whatever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Linares

North Carolina
msg tools
Awesome! Thanks for all the answers! If you don't mind me asking a different question, can a unit attack another unit that participated in the engagement and is focused? Example: Luke goes first, attacks, gets focused. Vader goes next, can he attack Luke or must he go for someone, not focused?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Moriarity
Canada
flag msg tools
Unless Luke has been pulled out of the engagement (by, say, Lando Calrissian's ability, for example), he is still participating in the engagement, which means he is a fair target for Vader.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.