Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trapped locker is a barrier with dex/disable 9 or strength/melee 11.

Mattock : reveal to add a d8 to your noncombat strength check. Recharge to use strength or melee in place of the normal skill in a check to defeat barrier with the lock or obstacle trait.

Could you in this case reveal the mattock (to add a d8) then recharge the mattock to change the dex/disable check into a strength check at the lower pass of 9 ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Pitts
United States
Aloha
OR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the answer is no, since the instant you reveal, its no longer in your hand to recharge. You can only use either/or for cards like that unless they're worded like weapons in that you can additionally recharge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Flamehearted wrote:
Trapped locker is a barrier with dex/disable 9 or strength/melee 11.

Mattock : reveal to add a d8 to your noncombat strength check. Recharge to use strength or melee in place of the normal skill in a check to defeat barrier with the lock or obstacle trait.

Could you in this case reveal the mattock (to add a d8) then recharge the mattock to change the dex/disable check into a strength check at the lower pass of 9 ?


No. You can reveal OR recharge since it doesn't say "additionally" or "you may also".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Actually, a card revealed is still in your hand. So there are cases where a card can have both happen to it.

HOWEVER, in this case you have to recharge it during "Determine Which Die You're Using", and it would then no longer be in your hand to reveal when you got to "Play Cards That Affect The Check."

PLUS you can only use one card of a type per check. In order to double-duty a card you can only do something like Lini's power (reveal an Animal Ally for 1d4) and then use that Animal's card power (because Lini is a different type than Ally).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was actually just wondering about the LAST part of that question. Wasn't even sure if that was allowed. The situation suggested here definitely isn't though. (the above post clearly states why)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
If the barrier in question has the lock or obstacle trait, then the answer to the last part of the question would be yes. You could recharge the mattock and then use strength or melee to attempt the dex/disable check.

You definitely cannot reveal the mattock and then recharge it, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.