Wesley R
United States
New York
flag msg tools
/me brings a game he owns
badge
Trust me, I am really not good at this game
mbmbmbmbmb
So I am just starting out in life by having a job and living on my own and I do not have the most money.

This is also the time where my girlfriend and I are entering the board game hobby which is a bit more expensive than I thought it would be.

We put together a list of what games we wanted to start off a collection (the ones everyone likes, essentials, etc) and told people to give us them for the holidays, however there are a LOT of games out there and I feel like it'll take a long time to get a decent-seized collection. Not to mention the current list of 24 games in itself is almost $1,000 off of Amazon.

Thus, if you were to start your collection over and had a small budget but had all the knowledge you do now what games would top your list? Where should I look for games to get them the cheapest? What order would you get your games in as far as enjoyment or number of plays left in them?

If you were going to start a collection, how would you do it? Obviously I will be taking notes and appreciate any help.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
mbmbmbmbmb
Do not start with 'essentials', don't start a collection. Find games that you love to play!

Try to find out what kind of games you like, and more importantly, what features in a game you don't like. Armed with that information you can ask for suggestions. The more information about these things you have, the better you can find games that you will like without spending money on duds.