Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: New player questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Nairb
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. When a runner encounters an unrezzed piece of ice and the corporation pays its rez cost to rez it, does it remained rezzed the entire game, or does it unrez after the end of the run?

2. A card like "accelerated beta test" says you can draw cards, then place AND rez any ice. Does this mean that it is played face up? And after a runner encounters it, does it remain rezzed even after the run?

3. If you're the corporation and you have an asset in a remote server and want to get rid of it, do you have to pay its trash cost? Does this cost a click?

4. When a runner encounters a piece of ice that says at the top "Runner may spend [one click] to break a subroutine" does the runner still have to have an icebreaker for that ice and reach the correct strength value to break the ice's subroutines by spending clicks?

5. Can you score multiples of the same agenda? Example: Scoring 2 "accelerated beta test" agendas for a total of 4 points

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Forster
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. It remains rezzed by default. (There are cards that can derez ice, however)

2. Any ice you find with Accelerated Beta Test gets played face up. See 1 for the rest of this question.

3. The corporate player may freely trash an asset in a remote server when installing something else in that server. The trashed asset goes to Archives face down. The trash cost is only used if the runner is the one doing the trashing.

4. No. The click-through text allows the runner to get past that ice without using any programs, if they have the time and want to use it.

5. Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
1. It remains rezzed indefinitely (until/unless some card effect gets rid of it, e.g. Data Mine's self-destruct clause).

2. Rezzed means face-up. So you don't need to pay to rez it, and it remains rezzed no matter how many times the runner encounters it. Of course, the drawback is that you can't surprise the runner with it, since it's face-up.

3. If you want to get rid of your asset, you need to install a new asset/agenda/upgrade in that server. This costs whatever it would normally cost to install the new card (usually one click to install from your hand). You do not pay the trash cost.

4. No, the runner can break Bioroid subroutines with clicks even without any programs. Essentially, the runner herself is acting as the "icebreaker".

5. Yes, you can score multiple agendas with the same name.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Nairb
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks like I've been playing wrong in regards to #1 then. So can the corporation decide to rez a piece of ice during a run?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Miller
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the runner approaches a piece of ice during a run, the corp may choose to rez it at that point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Jennings
United States
El Cerrito
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iamadoorknob wrote:
Looks like I've been playing wrong in regards to #1 then. So can the corporation decide to rez a piece of ice during a run?


This is in fact the only way the corporation may rez a piece of ice, unless a card specifically gives you the ability to do it at another time (such as Accelerated Beta Test)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
iamadoorknob wrote:
Looks like I've been playing wrong in regards to #1 then. So can the corporation decide to rez a piece of ice during a run?


ICE is special. A piece of ICE can only be Rezzed when the Runner approaches that piece of ICE or a card or effect specifically forces the Corp to Rez that ICE.

Edit: ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iamadoorknob wrote:
Looks like I've been playing wrong in regards to #1 then. So can the corporation decide to rez a piece of ice during a run?

A rather common mistake, so don't feel bad about it It completely breaks the game though

Have a look at this thread, too:
A:NR FAQ - please read this before posting questions!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jones
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Just as a sidenote, all of these statements are true unless the card says otherwise. For instance, AI icebreakers can be used to break any ICE (generally), EXCEPT Swordsman, which explicitly states AIs cannot break its subroutines. Atman also cannot break any ICE that does not exactly match its strength.

The bioroid ICE (the ones that say "spend [click] to break") are another exception-when-stated case.

So, as far as #1 goes, you have been playing it wrong UNLESS you have been rezing nothing but Chimeras, which specifically state that they derez at the end of the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.