Rocky Ayers
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the second encounter of "The Ritual of Shadows" does Lord Merrick Farrow still carry the "Staff of Shadows"? If so can he use it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My interpretation is that Merick does still have the Staff of Shadows for Encounter 2. The basic gist that the Quest Guide gives for the Ritual of Shadows is that you're meant to play it in one sitting, leaving everything the same between the end of Encounter 1 and the beginning of Encounter 2 except for the open group monster placement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yes and yes. The rules for relics on page 22 state that the OL picks which relic each LT will use for the quest.

In this case, the special quest rules dictate which relic Merick must use, but since it doesn't specifically say he only has it in encounter 1, the general rule about a relic being held for the whole quest still applies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.