Johnny
msg tools
Me and a friend were discussing a session that my friend played with another friend called Christian. Christian played as Ezren and my friend and he were unsure as to how to resolve combat when spells were used.

Ezren possessed some pretty impressive power as most fights ended quite quickly due to the massive amount of damage that Ezren could dish out. This led them to believe that they were doing something wrong.

When they played they were abiding the "one type, one use"-rule. That is; one spell and one item so the combined damage that Ezren did was let's say 1D10 + eventual bonuses (for the spell) AND 1D10 + eventual bonuses (for the regular combat check). Due to the massive potential damage that was dealt they figured they were doing it wrong so they went on with just resolving one or the other for each combat.

But what is correct really?

Regards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC ichigo
Thailand
Bangbuathong
Nonthaburi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can play both spell and item. : )

Massive damage seem to be unbelievable, but don't forget that it is all about dices.

One of my friend used to roll 1, 1, 1 with 3 dices (maximum damage should be 22). Doesn't sound like a massive damage now right? lol
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Marley
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can play only one card that changes the type of check, so..

Ezren can play Acid Arrow (1d12+2d4) or Heavy Crossbow(1d6+1d10) but not both (since they both change the type of spell).

He could play Speed and the Heavy Crossbow (a spell and a weapon) to give himself (1d6+1d10+3). Or Fiery Weapon and the heavy Crossbow (a spell and a weapon (1d6+1d10+1d4).

Also if you play Acid Arrow or heavy Crossbow you do not get to roll strength as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC ichigo
Thailand
Bangbuathong
Nonthaburi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure about this sentence, can you explain a bit more detail?
Sound like something may be wrong here.

" That is; one spell and one item so the combined damage that Ezren did was let's say 1D10 + eventual bonuses (for the spell) AND 1D10 + eventual bonuses (for the regular combat check)."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Boyen
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This seems to be incorrect. Most weapons and spells that do damage are worded something like this:

for your combat check, roll your and add .

You can only use 1 card that specifies the type of check you are doing, so you can't use both a weapon and a spell
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johnny
msg tools
Karian wrote:
This seems to be incorrect. Most weapons and spells that do damage are worded something like this:

for your combat check, roll your and add .

You can only use 1 card that specifies the type of check you are doing, so you can't use both a weapon and a spell


This is they way they ultimately played the game out. They chose either to use a spell or a weapon to resolve the COMBAT check.

This is correct then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Edwards
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If Ezren casts Lightning Touch or Force Missile he rolls d12+2+2d4 (Arcane + 2d4).
He adds nothing else unless you play additional cards. There are currently no weapons that could be played to help this spell. So if you're doing better than the above roll, you would need to be adding dice/bonuses from allies (none of the basic ones, but Acolyte for example), blessings or items (blast stone/sage's journal).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Sounds like you might be using a weapon AND an attack spell in the same check, which is not allowed. Only one card that says "For your combat check" can be played per check, and only by the character making the check.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.