Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: unarmed truck question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Haag
United States
New York
flag msg tools

How do I resolve an IFT attack of 4 FP factors on an unarmed and unarmored truck, if the final DR is 6, NMC?

The 'star' vehicle number for this column is 5.

I am guessing that the truck takes the NMC, and if it fails it is abandoned with no crew counter.

Thanks,

John
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
A7.308 vs UNARMORED VEHICLES: All non-ordnance Direct Fire attacks vs unarmored vehicles/horse counters are resolved on the Vehicle line of the IFT using the same IFT DR (after any applicable modification) for any Personnel target in the same Location. Unless using Defensive First Fire, non-ordnance attacks vs unarmored vehicles/horses affect all occupants of the Target Location including Infantry and other vehicles/horses which are present in the same Location [EXC: a vehicle in Bypass and out of the firer's LOS cannot be affected, nor can more vehicle/horse counters be affected by a DR than the highest KIA# of that column as randomly determined (e.g., a 6, 8 or 12 FP attack vs the Vehicle Line could affect no more than three vehicles; a 2 or 4 FP attack could affect only two vehicles; a 1 FP attack could affect only one vehicle)]. If that Final DR is < the Kill Number listed for the IFT FP column used, the vehicle is eliminated [EXC: Unlikely Kill; 7.309]; if it equals the Kill Number, the vehicle is immobilized [EXC: if HD the vehicle is unaffected by an Immobilization result]; if the Final DR is ≤ half of the Kill Number, the vehicle is eliminated as a burning wreck and all of its PRC are eliminated. Otherwise, the PRC of an eliminated vehicle must check for survival (D5.6). The surviving PRC of an eliminated vehicle are not subject to further effects from that attack. However, the Vulnerable PRC of a vehicle that has not been eliminated may still be subject to a Collateral Attack (D.8).


So if the final DR is higher than the star number, there is no effect.
7 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What the paragraph says is "if the final DR is equal to the star, the vehicle is immobilized, if it's lower it is eliminated and if it is half or lower it is a burning wreck".

The MC results would be applied to other vulnerable infantry in the same Location.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And I believe the Passangers of the truck would be subject to the NMC also do to D.8, Collateral Attack. (of the specific kind)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klas Malmstrom
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Tompy wrote:
And I believe the Passangers of the truck would be subject to the NMC also do to D.8, Collateral Attack. (of the specific kind)

Correct.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Vicca
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If it were an armed (and thus crewed) truck, the crew would take an NMC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.