Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Friedrich» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you retreat if you play a card that equals a tie. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Treadway

North Carolina
msg tools
I could not figure this one out.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Delano
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you play into a tie then the opponent must play if they have a non-reserve card to play. If they don't have a non-reserve (and can't or don't want to play a reserve) then the battle is done, it stays a tie and neither side retreats.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This seems quite clear in the rules:

page 5 of rules wrote:
The defeated general loses as many armies as the negative final score (but not more than he commanded) and is retreated the same number of cities.

...

In a draw, neither side loses armies or has to retreat.

There is no concept of "can" retreat, as if it's a choice.
It's something which happens to the defeated general, whether or not they want to retreat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
the answers are correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.