Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Elder Sign: Unseen Forces» Forums » Rules

Subject: Greater Banishment spell against Children of Abhoth? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex F
Israel
Ashdod
Negev
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Up until now , we've been playing that Greater Banishment affects the Children, but the wording on the spell doesn't make it clear.

I think it should only affect monsters that can be returned to the monster cup.

This would also make sessions against Abhoth more challenging since otherwise, the spell basically completely negates his special ability.

You can just hold onto it until all three of the Children appear, and then remove them from the table in one swoop.

Somehow, it doesn't seem fair. Of course, the spell doesn't crop up in every session, far from it, but still... What do you, guys, think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it works.

Elder Sign: Unseen Forces rules-sheet wrote:
If a game effect forces a Child of Abhoth monster to “return to the monster cup,” instead place the Child of Abhoth monster marker facedown in the stockpile next to the “Abhoth” Ancient One card. Then, shuffle the stockpile.

So there's recognition that game effects can defeat the Child of Abhoth, but the effect is to return it to the sheet, not the cup or the Investigator's trophy stash.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex F
Israel
Ashdod
Negev
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The previous game saw only a few spawning monsters; that's why when the spell came up, we just held it out until the Children were out.

But today, we played against Abhoth again, and we were practically drowning in monsters, as almost every adventure card spawned additional ones

Without using Greater Banishment early on we would have surely lost, and even with it, it was a very close game. We basically sealed him away at 6 o'clock before what would have been the last Midnight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.