Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: A simple question about railroads rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tom sei
Italy
Varese
flag msg tools
The railroad of a nation may be used by armies of other nations?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Indru
Romania
Timisoara
Timis
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The railroad rule only applies in each player's home provinces for his own armies.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Camelorn
Germany
Koblenz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
djdano wrote:
No. The railroad rule only applies in each player's home provinces for his own armies.

These non-standardized widths of railroad tracks are a real pain for the ambitious conquerer...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom sei
Italy
Varese
flag msg tools
Ok. So the doubt was reasonable.

But in which part of the rules is it specified?

From the rules:
Railroad transport: Each nation has a railroad network that exists between the home provinces and ends at its own national borders. If hostile armies (standing upright) are present in a home province, the railroad network in this home province is suspended. Before or after they move, armies may be transported by railroad within the country at will.

So it isn't specified "own armies may be transported..." but only "armies may be transported..."

And also in the faq I didn't find anything about it...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
Be the Miracle!
badge
There is no knowledge that is not power
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the doubt was not reasonable but anyway. The rules are clear. How could it be possible for a country to use the other's railroad?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom sei
Italy
Varese
flag msg tools
I'm not agree. The doubt was reasonable: the rules don't specify "own armies".

Moreover why is it impossible for a country to use other's railroad? In the real wars it isn't so strange...

In any case thank you for the answer: now this Imperial rule is clear for me.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron Liljeskog
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Well you have to remember that every home province that is not occupied by the enemy is "occupied" by your country's government officials and civilians loyal to their nation. This makes a home province a dangerous place to travel through for the enemy since there will (thematically speaking) be various kinds of security forces around even though no army is present.

Further more the rules state that your railroad ends at YOUR national borders.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.