Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Barrage of Fire + Range of Second Ship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Steiner
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
"Barrage of Fire" Weapon R 1-2 Attack: Discard this card to perform this attack. Target 1 friendly ship within range 1 of your ship. Target ship may not make a normal attack this round. Instead, add the Primary weapon value of that ship to your attack roll for this attack. Both ships must have the same enemy ship within their forward firing arcs. Place an Auxiliary Power token beside both ships.

Question: "Does the friendly ship within range 1" have to be within range 1-2 of the target ship or just be within range 1 of the initiating ship?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristoff Bergenholm
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rangarth wrote:
"Barrage of Fire" Weapon R 1-2 Attack: Discard this card to perform this attack. Target 1 friendly ship within range 1 of your ship. Target ship may not make a normal attack this round. Instead, add the Primary weapon value of that ship to your attack roll for this attack. Both ships must have the same enemy ship within their forward firing arcs. Place an Auxiliary Power token beside both ships.

Question: "Does the friendly ship within range 1" have to be within range 1-2 of the target ship or just be within range 1 of the initiating ship?



It just needs to be within range 1 of the initiating ship, and have the target of the attack within its' firing arc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Steiner
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
The reason I asked the question is that the second ship could be further away than range 3 and still be used for "Barrage of Fire". My understanding of the forward firing arc is the front 90 or 180 degree area depending on the ship. If the first ship is at range 2 and then you add the base of the primary ship and measure range 1 back from it, then the second ship with be further than range 3. Which by definition of "Forward Firing Arc" is defined by the angle and not the range to the target.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristoff Bergenholm
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rangarth wrote:
The reason I asked the question is that the second ship could be further away than range 3 and still be used for "Barrage of Fire". My understanding of the forward firing arc is the front 90 or 180 degree area depending on the ship. If the first ship is at range 2 and then you add the base of the primary ship and measure range 1 back from it, then the second ship with be further than range 3. Which by definition of "Forward Firing Arc" is defined by the angle and not the range to the target.



Still doesn't matter, though.

The second ship is not making an attack by the rules, it is just lending its primary attack value to the first ship. As you said, it's only concerned with the firing arc, and not the range of the second ship to the target.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.