Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hegemonic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Determining Starting Conflict Power For Outposts and Fleets rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
E Thomas
United States
Gresham
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the third bullet under Outposts on page 15 of the rulebook also apply to fleets?

The third outpost bullet states,"PLUS the Power of any of the player's other Outposts with enough range to reach the defending Outpost."

So if a two stack outpost is defending, it is also supported by a three stack outpost two hexes away (the range is bidirectional between the two and three stack outposts), correct?

Say a fleet unit draws power from said two stack outpost because it is within range. Does the two stack outpost still draw support from the three stack outpost two hexes away (range between the outposts is still bidirectional)? Under the description of how to calculate the Fleet's starting conflict power, it suggests just adding the outpost's power "as calculated above", but the descriptive words there don't exactly match the words above, hence the confusion.

I think the Martial vs. Political conflict example on pg. 17 supports bidirectional range, as outpost C is able to add support to outpost B, even though it isn't within B's range. Looking for confirmation that this is correct.

Thanks,

Eric
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes I believe that is correct. You pick the hex that is providing the support. Any other Military output that can reach or be reached by that hex is included, along with any Fleets in the Hex.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Kiley
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Faranim wrote:
Yes I believe that is correct. You pick the hex that is providing the support. Any other Military output that can reach or be reached by that hex is included, along with any Fleets in the Hex.


Yes, correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E Thomas
United States
Gresham
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the confirmation guys, and for the quick reply.

Eric
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathe
United States
Greenfield
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
http://www.Game-Universe.com
badge
http://www.MinionGames.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The best way to explain calculating military power that I found was to think of your fleet sending out a radio signal for support. The only bases that could be supportive of this fleet are those that have the range to hear it's call for help. THEN, you calculate the amount of power that the base can project through the guns of the fleet by figuring out all the military outposts in the range of the base that is called upon (plus any fleet in the primary outpost's sector and any fleets in the conflict sector).

James
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.