Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pact of Caracas question 2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Long
United States
Woodbridge
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does this card mean that neither M26 or DR can remove each others pieces?

Can Govt or syndicate remove M26 or DR pieces?

cant figure out the language " Special Activities that remove the other's pieces OR affect placed opposition"

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yoshi
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
26July and Directorio are not allowed to take OP and/or Special activities in a manner that would remove the other's pieces or affect opposition. The other factions may do whatever they like, as usual.

The pact does not effect events, so Directorio and 26July may through events remove the other's pieces or affect placed opposition.

The pact basically forces a truce between the two factions for as long as it is in effect.

E.g. Directorio may not subvert in an area where there is Opposition, since this would remove the Opposition.
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Long
United States
Woodbridge
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regards Yoshi
Thanks for the clarification.

That's what I thought.... the language on the card was more complex than the actual mechanic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A fine point is that affecting "placed Opposition" is banned. So 26July could still use Terror to shift a space from Neutral to Passive Opposition, but not to flip Passive to Active Opposition.

Note also that there is no restriction on Agitation (which is not an Op or Special Activity but an action during the Prop Round).

Regards, Volko
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Rosart
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
At what time can one of the parties to the treaty spend two bases to abrogate it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have the same question as Dan but Volko seems to be not around since then to answer more question. In addition, this card really is worded poorly. I have to browse through other thread to get to know the meaning of the "mutual transfers". The fact it was a truce between 26 July and Directorio was not clearly explained. Finally, does the Executing Faction stay Eligible onward until the next Propaganda Card or just the current round? If the former, that would be a huge boost to the faction, especially 26 July.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Lawrence: Instead of browsing web forums, you could look up "Transfer" in the Key Terms Index at the rear of the rule book and then read the rule referred to in that entry. It is quite explicit. In the same index you will also find the entries for "Remove" and "Eligible", each of which has a reference to another rule that is relevant to this event.

The Event cards generally don't spell out things that the game rules already cover explicitly, particularly when the relevant key terms are included in the event text.

Regards, Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the Index refers "Eligible" to 2.3.1 and 2, which doesn't explain the duration of such "Eligible" given by card event. I assume the faction is only eligible for the next round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
True; there is also a relevant bit in 2.3.7 on the same page.

Edited to add: And 2.3.1 explicitly refers to 2.3.7...

Regards, Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.