10 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Help me with my Christmas List rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Miss Lizee
msg tools
mb
Hey guys! I'm still pretty new to this and I was hoping for some recommendations for my Christmas list.

I got Carcassonne last Christmas which I enjoy (as does everyone we've asked to play with us) and we also have a few expansions for this (Inns and Cathedrals, Princess and the Dragon).

With Carcassonne, I like that we can play 2 player but that we can also easily play 4-6 with it and it's quite a different game. I like that a new player can win if they're lucky enough and that luck plays enough of a part to even out the odds, but that if you're clever you can still win with some bad luck.

The other games we have bought since then are as follows:

Smallworld (I don't love this, I can't say why... just never choose to play it, i find it a bit uninvolved)

Ticket to Ride Europe - love this; again, theres an element of luck and some scheming, but no outright sabotage. usually play as 2,3 or 4.

Avalon - LOVE this game - we played it a group of 7/8 last night and it was just sooo much fun! I love that you can't trust anyone and you have to think everyone's moves through to try and work them out. not often we have 5+ players though :s some real logic involved, probably my favourite game at the moment.

Love Story - this is ok for a short game, it's handy to have in the bag

Zombie Dice - this is ok, a bit too simple.

Hanabi - I can't hold enough information in my head at a time to really be any good at this game

Forbidden Island - only played as a 2 on the ipad version, it was ok, not something i loved

I've got Kingdom Builder on the ipad which I enjoy, but my hb is not so keen so I usually just play against the AI.