Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Navajo Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Enemy Way on a Ceremony Card and discarding rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Maxwell
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grabbing card #20 as an example, the Enemy Way reads:

Quote:
Add 2 Enemy AP counters to the Enemy AP's Available box. Player may discard this card; if discarded, remove 1 Elder from Passage of Time if possible


Now when another Ceremony card is drawn while holding this one does that mean that you:

*Add 2 AP's OR discard this Ceremony card and remove an Elder from Passage of Time

OR

*Add 2 AP's AND you could chose to discard this Ceremony card and remove an Elder from Passage of Time

?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
*Add 2 AP's AND you could chose to discard this Ceremony card and remove an Elder from Passage of Time


This is correct.

-Joel
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Maxwell
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
8 minute response time from the designer. I guess that's good enough. Thanks Joel!
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's best to rid yourself of a Ceremony Card by using its die roll instead of paying a penalty cost to discard, or when it's free (as in your example when there is no Elder in the Passage of Time box).

Ceremony Cards are great but resist the temptation to hoard them as they'll come back to bite you.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Maxwell
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, this one nailed me on back-to-back draws though unfortunately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JasonRMax wrote:
Yeah, this one nailed me on back-to-back draws though unfortunately.


That happens, all part of the uncertainty of the deck draw.

It can definitely create some tension when you're holding a Ceremony Card for just the 'perfect time' (e.g., an important battle), but inevitably another Ceremony Card (or cards) will reveal first and you'll be penalized.

I tend to adjust my strategy to quickly use any Ceremony Card(s) in my hand, and not save them for the 'perfect time', unless I can readily absorb the penalty without much pain.

Just another fun element of the design!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JasonRMax wrote:
Yeah, this one nailed me on back-to-back draws though unfortunately.


I usually draw about four in a row! shake
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard dyrda
United States
Hawthorn Woods
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do tend to leave the intruder enemy way ceremony card in play. Do most do that?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dyrda wrote:
I do tend to leave the intruder enemy way ceremony card in play. Do most do that?


That one doesn't bother me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It will during American and Mexican periods. Intruders become a problem in those periods of the game. devil
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard dyrda
United States
Hawthorn Woods
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joel_m_toppen wrote:
It will during American and Mexican periods. Intruders become a problem in those periods of the game. devil


Good to know. Have only played the Spanish period.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.