Tyler DeLisle
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys and girls! I apologize ahead of time, I remember reading a similar thread months ago, but my search-fu is lacking.

This is my first time attending a boardgame convention. I live in Dallas, but couldn't get time off of work, so I'll only be visiting nights on Wednesday through Friday regardless.

My inquiry is just on people's thoughts on driving to and from the Con each day on Saturday and Sunday? I live 30 minutes away, traffic can be pretty awful, but not so much on weekends.

Any reasons why this would sound like a really bad idea? I remember the last thread some people saying that they liked to retreat to their room for breaks and naps between gaming. I think I'm still young enough to not need naps that badly, hah. Then again, I've never really done gaming marathons of this magnitude. The official hotel is booked up, so I wouldn't have the convenience of a bed an elevator away anyway.

Just looking for opinions from experienced convention goers who have maybe attended a Con in their area before, if there is a reason why I should be looking for a roommate for at least Saturday, maybe Friday night. I've been debating it in my head, and haven't been sure.

I do like the idea of getting to meet new people that I'd be rooming up with, since I don't know anyone attending, but that can be a pretty huge gamble.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duffy Carter
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I drive down daily to the con from McKinney. Sounds like you're closer than that. It's totally possible, you just have to know when to not start another game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Foutz
United States
Garland
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb