Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Empires of Zidal» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are signets limited? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harold Coleman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Played this game twice tonight, both times 3-player, and all of us enjoyed it. The subject question arose in two instances:

1. If a player, for example, plays a card that gives him 4 signets of a color, but there is only one left thus ending the game, does he still get credit the other 3 signets?
2. Can the 4-signet, end-of-game Wizard ability be used to get the color(s) that have run out?

Most games that have a limited number of VPs tokens (Race for the Galaxy and Eminent Domain come to mind) use "extra" markers if the VPs run out ending the game. But if Zidal doesn't, it really limits the end game power of the Wizard.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Kress
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Harold, I'm glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed the game. To answer your questions:

1. If a card is played that allows you to gain 4 signets of any color (like the knight or sorcerer) but only 1 is left in the tray then just the 1 signet token is gained and nothing more.
2. Yes, you may choose signets that are empty from the tray when assigning what the wizard is worth at the end of the game. This is because you are setting the wizard's inherent signet value. Just like a general is still worth 5 military signets at the end of the game despite if the military signet pocket in the tray is empty or not. The same thing applies to the wizard. He can be any signet value you want despite if the trays are empty or not.

Hope that helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.