Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Race! Formula 90» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions after a first play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After a first play last night there were a few questions that we couldn't answer so I'm hoping for more help here;

1/ Strategy Lucky: When two cards are drawn with the same movement value you qualify for a special track card, however you have to reveal the cards to the other players to prove this. Can you hide the other elements of the card you select so players can't see what potential benefit you might have?

2/ Safety Car: The rule states;

The white Safety Car is positioned in the section where the Leader is placed right in front of him. The other cars are positioned behind the Leader according to their relative position at one section distance between them, so nullifying any gap accumulated so far.

Surely this doesn't mean that cars are placed, one per section along the track behind the leader? This seems to contradict the statement about nullifying the gap and be the opposite of what happens in real F1.

3/ Pit Stop: After a Pit Stop, when the turn order gets back to the driver in the pits, is he deemed to be on the track already or does he need to use a movement point to get onto the track section he stopped at. The rules suggest the former but there seemed no inertia with a pitted car re-joining the race at full speed on the track.

4/ Pit Stop 2: If a pit stop takes a car back to an empty section of track can it occupy a trajectory spot?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Lala
United Kingdom
Weston-Super-Mare
Somerset
flag msg tools
designer
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
badge
Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:

1/ Strategy Lucky: When two cards are drawn with the same movement value you qualify for a special track card, however you have to reveal the cards to the other players to prove this. Can you hide the other elements of the card you select so players can't see what potential benefit you might have?


You have to show the two cards fully. Can't hide part of them.

Big Bad Lex wrote:

2/ Safety Car: The rule states;

The white Safety Car is positioned in the section where the Leader is placed right in front of him. The other cars are positioned behind the Leader according to their relative position at one section distance between them, so nullifying any gap accumulated so far.

Surely this doesn't mean that cars are placed, one per section along the track behind the leader? This seems to contradict the statement about nullifying the gap and be the opposite of what happens in real F1.


That's correct. Cars are placed one per section along the track behind the leader. With "nullifying the gap" rules mean that if you were, say, 5 sections behind, now you are only 1 section behind the car in front. Apologies if the wording is not very clear. Really it means that all gaps are now reduced to 1 section only.


Big Bad Lex wrote:

3/ Pit Stop: After a Pit Stop, when the turn order gets back to the driver in the pits, is he deemed to be on the track already or does he need to use a movement point to get onto the track section he stopped at. The rules suggest the former but there seemed no inertia with a pitted car re-joining the race at full speed on the track.


Each game turn represents one or more full laps of the track. Therefore, even if you are taking a pit stop, you have all the time to pit and get back on the track at full speed.

Big Bad Lex wrote:

4/ Pit Stop 2: If a pit stop takes a car back to an empty section of track can it occupy a trajectory spot?


Yes. Same reasons as above.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies Alessandro. I'm sorry but I must say I'm bothered by the answer to point 2. In real F1 if the start car comes out the cars maintain order but bunch up closely, so a strung out field is concertinaed back into a tight pack. This rule actually does the opposite and strings the cars into a long parade. If prior to the crash, the game had been tightly fought with all cars compressed into 3-4 sections, the result after the start car appears would not leave the last positioned car closer to the leader but it would find itself 9 sections behind in a 5 player game.

The game is such an excellent simulation of an F1 race, this rule seems out of step with the rest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Lala
United Kingdom
Weston-Super-Mare
Somerset
flag msg tools
designer
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
badge
Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Understand your reasoning.
However note that in the turn when the race restarts all overtakes cost 1 movement point only.
Therefore, despite the parade configuration, the result after the safety car is gone is that positions can reshuffle pretty easily like if cars were battling out of a tight pack. Like in a real race.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.