Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I use a power BEFORE I play a hero card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Manalo Sam

Pennsylvania
msg tools
Can i use a power before I play a hero card or is the Action order fixed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You must play a card first. The Action order is fixed.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everything between now and the next game is just killing time
England
London
Agitation
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only if you have a thing that lets you.
The order of (play, power, draw) is fixed but there are effects that let you play a card or use a power 'out of sequence'.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not having seen all the hero cards in the game yet, there is the possibility of a card or power changing the order. However, barring that specific card text - the order is fixed.

I draw this inference from the hero card that lets you change start of turn with end of turn actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Watson
United States
Barrington
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Matchstickman wrote:
Only if you have a thing that lets you.
The order of (play, power, draw) is fixed but there are effects that let you play a card or use a power 'out of sequence'.


For example, Omnitron-X (in the Shattered Timelines expansion) has a card that lets you draw a card at the start of your turn, and a card that lets you play a card and use a power at the end of your turn.

If you had both these cards out, your turn could look like this:
* Start of hero turn: Electro-Deployment Unit lets you Draw or Play
* Play
* Use a power
* Draw
* End of hero turn: Slip Thru Time lets you Play and Use a power

So your turn could start with Draw (which is usually the last thing you do), then Play, then Use a Power, then Draw (again), then Play (again), then Use a Power (again, but note that each instance of a power can be used at most once a turn).

OmX can get much crazier than this once he has a few cards out...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.