Nikita Zverev
Russia
Novosibirsk
Novosibirskaya Oblast
flag msg tools
Hi everybody.
This is my first post on this forum (sorry for my bad English). I am a newbie Civilization player: got the game on my birthday and purchased both expansions not so long ago.

I have played 3 vanilla games and 2 F&F+W&W games. In vanila cultural players were too weak. With both expansions this situation has changed but the cultural victory path is still unclear for me.

I have already seen the awesome aggressive cultural victory by Thanee (Arabs) in PBF Game #88, so at least I have a clue how to achieve it. However, is it possible to get a cultural victory by playing defensively (and without Fundamentalism)? Can I outpace an economical player with it? If so, I have some questions:

1. When should I start devoting to arts?
2. Do I need more than one city as a cultural powerhouse?
3. Is urban development is more important in this case than rationalism?
4. How should I defend against enemy aggression?
5. Should I spend culture on "1 culture event card for 1 culture at SOT" social policy (don't remember its name)?
6. Should I wait for x4 investments in Endowment of Arts before devoting?

Thank you in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Dettmar
United States
Ontario
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
devote to the arts every turn with one city (after you found a second city)
use the great people that you will get from culture advancement, and defend with the culture cards you draw (although you will have to rely on luck a bit) you can also fortify if need be. don't make to many armies, just units, and don't neglect trade. you can usually get a surprise victory by saving up till you can advance several spaces in one turn if people are paying particularly close attention. cultural victories are quite common in games I've played

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Swalwell
United Kingdom
London
Greater London
flag msg tools
badge
Gamer in All Mediums