Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Glass Road» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions on card hands, bonuses, and scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris Wiggins
United States
Kingwood
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Uh! It's this darn dice tower!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had our first play and a number of questions. Perhaps they're answered in the book, but I didn't find them.

- Are played cards discarded after each round? Or put back into the 15 card deck for selection next round?

- If left with cards at the end of a round, do you get rid of them before the next round? That would mean there would be cards you couldn't use which would be interesting and frustrating (if those "used" cards are in fact discarded instead of being added back to the 15 card draw deck). Or do you hold onto them as you draw another 5 (or 3?) cards for the next round?

- Is the Feudal Lord the ONLY way to place tiles into a private offer?

- Just to be clearer, you do remove slotted cards at the end of a round, right? On my initial read I came away with that, but couldn't find it when I looked again later.

- When gaining 2+ coal or food do you have to go up on the same dial? If so, if the card offers 2 +2 coal or food actions, could you go up on one dial for one action and the other one for the second action?

- Does diagonal adjacency count for "adjacency" purposes?

TIA
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
krakrs wrote:
We had our first play and a number of questions. Perhaps they're answered in the book, but I didn't find them.

- Are played cards discarded after each round? Or put back into the 15 card deck for selection next round?

- If left with cards at the end of a round, do you get rid of them before the next round? That would mean there would be cards you couldn't use which would be interesting and frustrating (if those "used" cards are in fact discarded instead of being added back to the 15 card draw deck). Or do you hold onto them as you draw another 5 (or 3?) cards for the next round?

- Is the Feudal Lord the ONLY way to place tiles into a private offer?

- Just to be clearer, you do remove slotted cards at the end of a round, right? On my initial read I came away with that, but couldn't find it when I looked again later.

- When gaining 2+ coal or food do you have to go up on the same dial? If so, if the card offers 2 +2 coal or food actions, could you go up on one dial for one action and the other one for the second action?

- Does diagonal adjacency count for "adjacency" purposes?

TIA


All cards are picked up and available for the next round.

Private offer comes from playing Feudal Lord.

If something says gain 2 food they have to go to the same dial. If you have 2 of those then you can do 2/2 or 0/4.

Adjacency is orthogonal.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Brown
United States
Ofallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
King Agricola
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kris,
Just a few clarifications:

Pick 5 out of 15 cards to play in the round

Place one face down

Starting player reveals. If you have their card, in your hand, place it into one of the indentations on the player board. Use one of the abilities if you choose to

Now, your turn, reveal yours, if another player has your card, in their hand, they place it into an open indentation. If the indentations are full, they do not reveal that they are holding your card

Perform your available actions

This happens 3 times. Then the round is OVER. All cards are collected, building tile board is replenished, starting player goblet is moved to the next player.

ROUND 2 begins.....


So, what this means is you only use five cards during the building period "reveal" phase. Once, that is over, all 15 go back into your hand to choose five more.


In response to the idea that you cannot split a resource gain, between two wheels, I believe is incorrect. I scoured the rules and I believe that if I get 3 charcoal, I can split it among both wheels. That's the way we play it.

Overall, this game is growing on me. I was leery at first because I watched Tom Vasel's review. I like it better than he does. It is quick and a light-medium difficulty curve.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
But I don’t want to go among mad people
badge
Oh, you can’t help that, we’re all mad here.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@Joe: Nope, you cann't split the ressources between the wheels. Page 12.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Berman
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RE: splitting resources on wheels. I agree the rulebook states you can't split resources but then why does one of the buildings specifically state to only add its resource to one production wheel. Since the rules already state this the building's instructions are redundant. Not disagreeing but seems odd. Can the designer please clarify if the US rules are incorrect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
But I don’t want to go among mad people
badge
Oh, you can’t help that, we’re all mad here.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it think it's redundant. The german rules are the same as the english rules in this point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the Specialist cards, the rules seems consistent.

Appendix 1, on Specialist cards, have statement P2 on page 12 about not splitting Charcoal and Food.

There is corresponding language (or a reference to P2) in Appendix 1 for each Specialist that can provide multiple Charcoal or Food (Forest Manager, Supplier, Slash-and-Burn Farmer, Fuel Collector, Charcoal Burner, Fish Farmer).

On page 15 in Appendix 2, there is a corresponding statement G2. Later items about the relevant Processing buildings (those that can give more than one Charcoal or Food - Boarding House, Carving Workshop, Charcoal Kiln, Farmstead, Inn, Joinery, Potash Manufacturer, Roofing Company) all refer to G2.

For these Immediate buildings, there are explicit statements:
- Boathouse; may gain multiple Charcoal. "Indicate the Charcoal on one Production wheel."
- Buttery: "Immediately gain 3 Food on each of your Production wheels."
- Fishery; may gain 3 Food per pond-removing action: "For each action individually, choose one Production wheel to indicate the Food on."
- Fuel Depot: "Immediately gain 7 Charcoal (see G2)."
- Grain House: "Immediately gain 7 Food (see G2)."
- Hot Springs; may gain multiple Charcoal. "Indicate the Charcoal on one Production wheel."
- Sculpture Workshop; may gain multiple Food. "Indicate the Food on one Production wheel."
- Winery; may gain 3 Food per grove-removing action: "For each action individually, choose one Production wheel to indicate the Food on."

The only omission seems to be the Wood Trader, by which you may get multiple Charcoal or Food, 2 at a time in each of multiple actions. It seems reasonable to say that Wood Trader is handled like Fishery or Winery.

I think that the intention was to be explicit for each Specialist and Building (either by references to P2 and G2 or by explicit language) so as to make the rules clearer. I suspect that Wood Trader was missed in error.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.