Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Terra Mystica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Phase III: return action tokens question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Filippo
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the manual it is stated that "If there are any Action tokens on Favor tiles and Bonus cards remove them from there."

I don't understand how there can still be action tokens on bonus cards if in order to reach this last phase every player has to pass thus returning his previous bonus card and with the newly taken being face down.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Eikermann
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All is means is that those action spaces "refresh" once you have passed for the next round. It seems redundant to say "remove the action token" from the bonus card when you pass, but that just ensures that the next person who grabs it will be able to use the action in the next round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Honig
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't remove the action token when you return the card, so if you had the Shovel action token from the Bonus card, then you pass, the Shovel action token gets removed from the Bonus card that is sitting on the side of the board.

That's all it means.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Hamrick
United States
Rocky Mount
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, at the end of a turn (after all Bonus Cards (tiles) have been returned, you will need to remove all Action tokens from
a) Favor tiles you own;
b) Bonus Actions you may have on your player board; and from
c) Special Action spaces on the game board.

The 'Action Tokens" that may have been placed on the Bonus Tile you used that turn will already be removed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
FD22 wrote:
In the manual it is stated that "If there are any Action tokens on Favor tiles and Bonus cards remove them from there."

I don't understand how there can still be action tokens on bonus cards if in order to reach this last phase every player has to pass thus returning his previous bonus card and with the newly taken being face down.


As a practical matter many folks (our group included) physically takes the marker off of the bonus tile when they return them to the pool at the time that they pass, but there's nothing saying that they are actually removed at that time even though it'd be impossible for anyone to use them again given the current powers. But technically they aren't really removed until that step. That's all.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are two things going on with removing action markers from the bonus tiles:

1) The physical representation of the game-state - what you actually do around your table with your players - where the marker could be removed when the player who had the tile passes, when a new player takes it, or even next round when the players goes "Oops, I haven't used it yet".

2) The theoretical game-state, in which the tile has the action marker applied until the end of round cleanup.

Since removing the marker as you pass has no scope for abuse, there's no problem with letting the physical and theoretical game states get out of sync...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.