Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Horror Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few rule questions David, if you could ... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Edelberg
United States
Saranac Lake
New York
flag msg tools

Hi David,

I've read the rules to Horror Island and wish to play. I've a few questions, if you'd be so kind:

(Q) The rules say a player may trade in an unused Clue Token for 1D6 cards from the discard pile. Yet does the player have choice in how those discarded cards are drawn?

For example, are the cards taken in the order (or reverse order) they were discarded? (Thus if a player rolled "2" on the 1D6, would he take the first two cards sent to the discard pile, or possibly the last two? Or are the cards perhaps chosen randomly (i.e. are they to be shuffled face down, and then taken by the player)? Or can the player see and examine the cards, and then select the ones he desires?

(Q) If a player runs out of cards and dies as the result of an Attack, the rules say he is to return to the Village, select a new pawn and draw two new Action cards. Does that occur immediately, or does the player wait for Step 1 of the NEXT turn to get his two Action cards. (Or, said another way, in Step 2 of the next turn will the player hold 2 cards or 4?)

(Q) If a player uses a Clue Token to divert an attack, can the attack be diverted to a Villager instead of to the player (just as with the "I'm Over Here" Action card)? (Presmably if it's diverted to a Villager the Villager dies.)

(Q) The Unwilling Sacrifice goal refers to a "victim". Yet who is this victim? (There's no Victim item among the game's items.) Is one of the tokens remaining in the Village used as the victim? Or is the Victim some unrepresented game item, which the player obtains by returning to the Village, and then taking to the Waterfall?

(Q) In the Call For Help goal, does it require an Action to fix the radio?

(Q) What happens if the Willing Sacrifice goal is drawn at a time when only 1 token remains in the game? Does the player owning that token lose? Is another goal chosen?

Thank you -- John
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Mitchell
United States
Pine Hill
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi John,

I'm glad you are trying out the game and I hope you enjoy it. I'll try to answer your questions:

edelberg wrote:

(Q) The rules say a player may trade in an unused Clue Token for 1D6 cards from the discard pile. Yet does the player have choice in how those discarded cards are drawn?


One way the game can come to an end is if the Action Deck runs out of cards. This was intended to give the players an extra turn or two to wrap things up. It was intended that the cards come right off the top of the discards... so, there may be some benefit to doing this at the right time.

edelberg wrote:

(Q) If a player runs out of cards and dies as the result of an Attack, the rules say he is to return to the Village, select a new pawn and draw two new Action cards. Does that occur immediately, or does the player wait for Step 1 of the NEXT turn to get his two Action cards. (Or, said another way, in Step 2 of the next turn will the player hold 2 cards or 4?)


The player will select a new pawn and draw up immediately. They will have 4 cards on their next turn.

edelberg wrote:

(Q) If a player uses a Clue Token to divert an attack, can the attack be diverted to a Villager instead of to the player (just as with the "I'm Over Here" Action card)? (Presmably if it's diverted to a Villager the Villager dies.)


No... that's just mean, why would you do that to the poor villager.

edelberg wrote:

(Q) The Unwilling Sacrifice goal refers to a "victim". Yet who is this victim?


The victim is one of the villagers that you drag to the top of the waterfall. If they are unescorted they will run back to the village pool by the next players turn (quick like a rabbit).

edelberg wrote:

(Q) In the Call For Help goal, does it require an Action to fix the radio?

Yes, that is a typo. It should be one action to fix the radio.

edelberg wrote:

(Q) What happens if the Willing Sacrifice goal is drawn at a time when only 1 token remains in the game? Does the player owning that token lose? Is another goal chosen?

Then you can go out in true horror movie fashion and do the right thing and die to bring peace to the evil of the island. I guess you could call that one a win if you are able to finish out the cinematic ending.

Hope this helps, and I hope you will give some feedback when you are done playing the game.

David

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Edelberg
United States
Saranac Lake
New York
flag msg tools
Thank you for your reply to my rules inquiries

Hi again David,

Thank you for your kind replies to my rules inquiries.

(I should say that should other gamers happen upon the Horror Island page, they'll find it reassuring to know that the developer is still "on call" to assist them. That can be a big factor in a gamer's decision about whether to try an unknown game.)

Thanks again -- John
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.