Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Sessions

Subject: It doesn't let me go for a takeover (Race for the Galaxy 0.8.1m) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aureliano R
Italy
Lucca
Lucca
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello all,

I need help with this session (on Race for the Galaxy 0.8.1m, modified with borgemik patch as denoted by the 'm').

At the last turn, I was about to go for a takeover on the green player sacrifying Imperium Cloaking Technology but the program wouldn't let me even if I didn't settle anything.

Now, is it a bug of the program or there is something that I'm missing from the rules?
Is it the fact that the Imperium Cloaking Technology was just played in the previous develop phase?

After I rolled it back I won all the same by settling the Rebel Stronghold, but I still feel like I'm not understanding an important detail.

Screenshot of the board when I'm about to pass to go for a takeover:


I pass and the game immediately ends.

Log of the result (where I lost since I passed the opportunity of settling my Rebel Stronghold):
Quote:

Race for the Galaxy 0.8.1m: Rebel vs Imperium.
Three players.
Goals disabled.
Takeovers enabled.
=== Start of game ===
Green starts with Ancient Race.
Blue starts with Imperium Warlord.
Red starts with Damaged Alien Factory.
Green is the first player.
=== Round 1 begins ===
Green chooses Consume-Trade.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Settle.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Spice World.
Blue places Blaster Runners.
Red places Smuggling World.
Green pays 2 for Spice World.
Blue conquers Blaster Runners.
Blue receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
Red pays 1 for Smuggling World.
Red receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
--- Consume phase ---
Green trades good from Ancient Race for 4.
Green receives 4 cards for Consume phase.
=== Round 2 begins ===
Green chooses Develop.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Explore +1,+1.
--- Explore phase ---
Green draws 2 and keeps 1.
Blue draws 3 and discards 2.
Red draws 3 and discards 1.
--- Develop phase ---
Green places Space Mercenaries.
Blue does not place a development.
Red places New Military Tactics.
Green pays 0 for Space Mercenaries.
Red pays 1 for New Military Tactics.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Star Nomad Lair.
Blue places Former Penal Colony.
Red places Rebel Miners.
Green conquers Star Nomad Lair.
Blue conquers Former Penal Colony.
Blue receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
Red discards New Military Tactics.
Red conquers Rebel Miners.
=== Round 3 begins ===
Green chooses Consume-Trade.
Blue chooses Consume-Trade.
Red chooses Produce.
--- Consume phase ---
Green trades good from Star Nomad Lair for 5.
Blue trades good from Former Penal Colony for 2.
Green receives 5 cards for Consume phase.
Blue receives 2 cards for Consume phase.
--- Produce phase ---
Green produces on Spice World.
Red produces on Rebel Miners.
Red produces on Smuggling World.
Red discards to produce.
Red produces on Damaged Alien Factory.
=== Round 4 begins ===
Green chooses Consume-Trade.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Consume-Trade.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Abandoned Alien Uplift Camp.
Blue places Blaster Gem Mines.
Red does not place a world.
Green pays 1 for extra military.
Green pays 1 for Abandoned Alien Uplift Camp.
Blue pays 3 for Blaster Gem Mines.
Blue receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
--- Consume phase ---
Green trades good from Spice World for 4.
Red trades good from Damaged Alien Factory for 5.
Green receives 4 cards for Consume phase.
Red receives 5 cards for Consume phase.
=== Round 5 begins ===
Green chooses Settle.
Blue chooses Consume-Trade.
Red chooses Develop.
--- Develop phase ---
Green places Rebel Pact.
Blue does not place a development.
Red places Investment Credits.
Green pays 1 for Rebel Pact.
Red pays 0 for Investment Credits.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Hive World.
Blue places Malevolent Lifeforms.
Red places Galactic Bazaar.
Green conquers Hive World.
Green receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
Blue conquers Malevolent Lifeforms.
Red pays 2 for Galactic Bazaar.
--- Consume phase ---
Blue trades good from Blaster Gem Mines for 3.
Red consumes 0 cards from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Blue receives 3 cards for Consume phase.
=== Round 6 begins ===
Green chooses Develop.
Blue chooses Develop.
Red chooses Consume-Trade.
--- Develop phase ---
Green places Interstellar Bank.
Blue places Drop Ships.
Red does not place a development.
Green pays 1 for Interstellar Bank.
Blue pays 3 for Drop Ships.
--- Consume phase ---
Red trades good from Smuggling World for 3.
Red consumes 1 card from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Red receives 3 cards and 1 VP for Consume phase.
=== Round 7 begins ===
Green chooses Explore +5.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Explore +1,+1.
--- Explore phase ---
Green draws 9 and discards 8.
Blue draws 4 and discards 3.
Red draws 3 and discards 1.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Rebel Convict Mines.
Blue places Rebel Base.
Red does not place a world.
Green pays 1 to conquer Rebel Convict Mines.
Blue conquers Rebel Base.
Blue receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
=== Round 8 begins ===
Green chooses Consume-Trade.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Consume-Trade.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Space Port.
Blue places Rebel Sympathizers.
Red does not place a world.
Green pays 2 for extra military.
Green pays 2 for Space Port.
Blue conquers Rebel Sympathizers.
Blue receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
--- Consume phase ---
Green trades good from Rebel Convict Mines for 5.
Red trades good from Galactic Bazaar for 3.
Red consumes 1 card from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Green receives 5 cards for Consume phase.
Red receives 3 cards and 1 VP for Consume phase.
=== Round 9 begins ===
Green chooses Produce.
Blue chooses Consume-Trade.
Red chooses Consume-Trade.
--- Consume phase ---
Blue trades good from Rebel Sympathizers for 2.
Red trades good from Rebel Miners for 3.
Red consumes 1 card from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Blue receives 2 cards for Consume phase.
Red receives 3 cards and 1 VP for Consume phase.
--- Produce phase ---
Green produces on Space Port.
Green produces on Hive World.
Green produces on Spice World.
Green produces on Ancient Race.
Blue produces on Malevolent Lifeforms.
Red produces on Rebel Miners.
Red produces on Smuggling World.
Red discards to produce.
Red produces on Damaged Alien Factory.
=== Round 10 begins ===
Green chooses Consume-Trade.
Blue chooses Consume-Trade.
Red chooses Consume-Trade.
--- Consume phase ---
Green trades good from Spice World for 4.
Blue trades good from Malevolent Lifeforms for 4.
Red trades good from Smuggling World for 3.
Red consumes 1 card from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Green receives 4 cards for Consume phase.
Blue receives 4 cards for Consume phase.
Red receives 3 cards and 1 VP for Consume phase.
--- End of round ---
Green discards 1 card at end of round.
Red discards 1 card at end of round.
=== Round 11 begins ===
Green chooses Explore +1,+1.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Consume-Trade.
--- Explore phase ---
Green draws 5 and discards 3.
Blue draws 4 and discards 3.
Red draws 2 and discards 1.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Rebel Colony.
Blue places Alien Robot Scout Ship.
Red places Devolved Uplift Race.
Green pays 3 to conquer Rebel Colony.
Blue conquers Alien Robot Scout Ship.
Blue receives 1 card from his Settle bonus.
Red conquers Devolved Uplift Race.
--- Consume phase ---
Green consumes good from Space Port using Rebel Colony.
Red trades good from Damaged Alien Factory for 5.
Red consumes 1 card from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Green receives 1 VP for Consume phase.
Red receives 5 cards and 1 VP for Consume phase.
--- End of round ---
Red discards 4 cards at end of round.
=== Round 12 begins ===
Green chooses Develop.
Blue chooses Settle.
Red chooses Consume-x2.
--- Develop phase ---
Green receives 1 card from Interstellar Bank.
Green places Galactic Imperium.
Blue places Imperium Cloaking Technology.
Red places Prospecting Guild.
Green pays 5 for Galactic Imperium.
Blue pays 1 for Imperium Cloaking Technology.
Red pays 5 for Prospecting Guild.
--- Settle phase ---
Green places Clandestine Uplift Lab.
Blue does not place a world.
Red places Primitive Rebel World.
Green pays 2 to conquer Clandestine Uplift Lab.
Red conquers Primitive Rebel World.
--- Consume phase ---
Green consumes good from Hive World using Clandestine Uplift Lab.
Green consumes good from Ancient Race using Rebel Colony.
Red consumes good from Rebel Miners using Prospecting Guild.
Red consumes 1 card from hand using Galactic Bazaar.
Green receives 1 card and 2 VPs for Consume phase.
Red receives 1 card and 3 VPs for Consume phase.
=== End of game ===
Green ends with 27 VPs.
Blue ends with 20 VPs.
Red ends with 23 VPs.
Green wins with 27 VPs.
(The seed for this game was 1386010420.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The top right player (I'm guessing Green) has Rebel Pact, which provides him with additional defence against takeovers: +2 for each Rebel military world and +1 for other military worlds.

So the Star Nomad Lair has 1 (itself) + 1 (standing military) + 6 (Rebel Pact for 2 rebel worlds and 2 other military worlds) = 8 defence.

If you look at the game log, Green paid for +2 military in the final turn, so Star Nomad Lair would have had 10 defence when you wanted to take it over. You only have 8 military so the game skipped that.

(Note that Green has Galactic Imperium, adding +4 if you were planning to takeover any of his Rebel military worlds.)
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
I'm not sure but your military wouldn't be high enough to take over anything that Green has. It's possible that the game is smart enough to see this and thus doesn't give you the option to try.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aureliano R
Italy
Lucca
Lucca
flag msg tools
mbmb
Ohhh, now I see it.

I guess I'm still a little rough on those takeover rules.

Thank you very much, nice and clear explanation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Grankin
Ukraine
Mariupol
flag msg tools
Avatar
Quick note: AI plays much better with goals enabled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.