United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my reviews!
badge
All Hail the Burger King!
mbmbmbmbmb
Recently I played a 2 player game of Battue: Storm of the Horse Lords tonight. It is my first time ever playing this game. Battue is a turn based exploratory combat game. A good friend suggested this game to me so I picked it up at GenCon 2013 for $5 (along with the expansion for an additional $3). Battue is designed for 2-4 players and has a play time of 60 minutes. Here is my review.

PROS: The rules are uncomplicated and fairly straight forward. It took all of 15 minutes to read through them without any confusion. The horsemen and flag standard miniatures are made of a nice solid plastic giving them strong durability. My favorite part of the game is the Event and Loot cards. They add an element to the game that is both fun (Event cards) and somewhat strategic (Loot cards). The simplicity of combat is fast, but feels appropriate for the game. A full game lasted about 60 minutes, which is exactly what the box stated. Lastly, I like the randomization and the secrecy of the board. The layout will be different every single time.