Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Our Lady of Perpetual Yelling
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty new to the games that have burst onto the scene since 2000 or so. In the last few months since I discovered BGG and all these great new games, I've been adding interesting sounding ones to my collection.

HOWEVER...

I'm so used to roll-and-move games that I've found some "simple" (as described on BGG) games a bit over my head. Take Mice and Mystics, for example. We cracked open the box, and were almost immediately overwhelmed by the set up. We then watched 1-2 hrs worth of videos trying to figure it out; packed it up and haven't pulled it out since. We WANT to learn how to play it, but we don't know any local gamers so we have to figure them out on our own. On top of that, I teach a games class at my local homeschool co-op, and generally am teaching/running three different games each class. *whew!*

How do YOU teach yourself a new game? I've never heard of a "learning game" until BGG, because most games I grew up playing were pretty simple. However, I need an easier way to teach myself a game so that family game night (and co-op class) run a bit smoother. Ideas?

ETA: I've been thinking about this question since I started watching Dice Tower vids. I was curious how Tom Vasal manages it, since he obviously has to learn & teach several new games a week. Of course, he has waaaaay more game experience than me.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mario Lanza
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I read the rules usually after looking at all the pieces and sometimes with the pieces out and in front of me for easy access. I read and reread sections until am able to envision gameplay. In other words, if I'm not getting it, I read it again until I do. If you don't get it yourself, your rules explanation won't go over very well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools