Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Blood Bound» Forums » Rules

Subject: Berserker ability triggers other ability: who gets sword? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Furman
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two of the abilities include handing the sword to another player. When the ability it triggered from an attack, this works well since they are currently holding the sword. What happens if one of theses abilities is triggered from the berserker's ability since the berserker is still holding the sword? Does berserker have to relinquish sword to allow ability to be completed or is the sword exchange of the ability ignored?
For example:
Undisclosed assassin (still has rank token) attacks berserker and he plays his rank to activate the ability to wound his attacker (the assassin). The assassin plays his rank token with this wound. Normally this would allow him to cause two wounds to another player, after which he is supposed to pass that victim the sword? Can the assassin pass a sword he doesn't have, since it is still held by berserker?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Rqthstar
United States
Laurel
Maryland
flag msg tools
Come together, together as one
badge
Perhaps in a perfect world, the ring would be a symbol of happiness
Avatar
mbmb
TeflonBilly9 wrote:
Two of the abilities include handing the sword to another player. When the ability it triggered from an attack, this works well since they are currently holding the sword. What happens if one of theses abilities is triggered from the berserker's ability since the berserker is still holding the sword? Does berserker have to relinquish sword to allow ability to be completed or is the sword exchange of the ability ignored?
For example:
Undisclosed assassin (still has rank token) attacks berserker and he plays his rank to activate the ability to wound his attacker (the assassin). The assassin plays his rank token with this wound. Normally this would allow him to cause two wounds to another player, after which he is supposed to pass that victim the sword? Can the assassin pass a sword he doesn't have, since it is still held by berserker?

The berserker ability doesn't count as an attack, so in your example the assassin wouldn't be able to use his ability by taking a rank wound from the berserker ability.
7 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Furman
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rathstar wrote:
TeflonBilly9 wrote:
Two of the abilities include handing the sword to another player. When the ability it triggered from an attack, this works well since they are currently holding the sword. What happens if one of theses abilities is triggered from the berserker's ability since the berserker is still holding the sword? Does berserker have to relinquish sword to allow ability to be completed or is the sword exchange of the ability ignored?
For example:
Undisclosed assassin (still has rank token) attacks berserker and he plays his rank to activate the ability to wound his attacker (the assassin). The assassin plays his rank token with this wound. Normally this would allow him to cause two wounds to another player, after which he is supposed to pass that victim the sword? Can the assassin pass a sword he doesn't have, since it is still held by berserker?

The berserker ability doesn't count as an attack, so in your example the assassin wouldn't be able to use his ability by taking a rank wound from the berserker ability.


If this would be the assassin's 3rd wound, does this mean that he would lose the chance to use his ability(since he held rank token for last)?
If so, that's an interesting tactical play I hadn't considered, especially against a suspected Elder. It also means that an assassin could deny a power to any player with a single wound through the use oh his power.

Thank you for the response.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Taylor
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TeflonBilly9 wrote:
If this would be the assassin's 3rd wound, does this mean that he would lose the chance to use his ability(since he held rank token for last)?


Yes, that is correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bob lebob
msg tools
HairyDogWalker wrote:
TeflonBilly9 wrote:
If this would be the assassin's 3rd wound, does this mean that he would lose the chance to use his ability(since he held rank token for last)?


Yes, that is correct.


i dont understand. could you explain why please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
boblebob wrote:
HairyDogWalker wrote:
TeflonBilly9 wrote:
If this would be the assassin's 3rd wound, does this mean that he would lose the chance to use his ability(since he held rank token for last)?


Yes, that is correct.


i dont understand. could you explain why please?


You can only use your ability if the wound is taken as part of an attack. This is an ENORMOUS part of the game. The assassin's ability (inflicting two wounds) does not trigger anyone's ability either. Neither does the guy who can inflict a damage or heal a damage. The timing of when to use these abilities in order to deny your targets from using their own ability is pretty much the entire game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.