Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

A Few Acres of Snow» Forums » Variants

Subject: Colonial Policy (advanced RRG) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tamás Fekete
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Colonial Policy
(advanced version of "Random Rules Generator"

Abstract:
This variant idea is about to use the RRG rules in a more dynamic way, like the possibility to turn in and out their effects.
The thematic background is about kind of some political games that affects the habits of the population of the colonies, or the French or the British political leaders or bureaucracy - and these games can be affected by some resources to spent there...

Disclaimer:
This variant has not been tested so far (except the RRG part), there is a moderate probability of finetune needed in some values.
But I thought it could be useful to be seen by other people who love the game and/or has a greater experience in it.

---

Setup:

First step is to make playing cards of the RRG cards (print).
These printed RRG cards will be called now Colonial Policy cards.
(Note: at the end there will be a list of the suggested RRG cards to use here, with a thematic title for all of them.)

A random selected of five Colonial Policy cards should be placed near the game board.
(Or a selection based on players' discussion.)


Rules for using Colonial Policy cards (CP cards):

These CP cards can be in active or inactive state - in the beginning all of them are inactive. When a card is set in active state, it should be rotated.

Players have an additional action to use:
Colonial Policy influence (CP influence).
This is a regular action (not free), with the exception that only one CP influence action can be performed in a player's turn!

The CP influence action can be performed in two ways:
1. activate a CP card or
2. deactivate a CP card.
The method is the same, the only difference is the player's declaration of activation or deactivation.

CP influence action:
a. Place any amount of money from the player own cash on the desired CP card;
b. Place the same amount* of money from the bank to the same CP card;
c. Declare whether the CP card is activated or deactivated now (rotate or rotate back).
Note: when you place money on an inactive CP card, you can leave it inactive - it basically blocks (hardens) the card from being activated by the other player.

(* Finetune alert: maybe more money should be placed from the bank, like two or three times more than the player paid.)

When a CP Card is activated, it should be rotated, and all text should be applied for the game until it is in active state (add/remove affected gameplay elements if any).
When a CP Card is deactivated, it should be rotated back, and all text is considered invalid again (add/remove affected gameplay elements if any).

After a CP card is in active state, every single time, when any player reshuffles his own deck, one money should be removed from the card, taking it back to the bank!
When all the money is taken from a CP card, it still remains in the same state until it is changed again.

If a player (in his turn) uses a CP influence action to change the state of a CP card that has money on it, then:
a. First he has to pay the same amount of money to the bank as in the CP card;
b. Then he removes all the money from the CP card;
c. Finally he can place money on it in the regular way (as described in the CP influence action).

If a player uses a CP influence action on a card with the intention of leaving the current state of the card (= "strengthen the CP card"), he can place more money in the regular way (as described in the CP influence action).

If there is no money on an active CP card, then it can be deactivated for free (as a CP influence action) by any player.


Suggested Colonial Policy cards:

Supply corruption
Pay 1 coin when reshuffling your deck. (If you cannot, discard 2 cards after refilling the hand to 5.)

Architect civilians in Louisbourg
One fortification disc in Louisbourg.
Note: it can not be activated if Louisbourg has a fortification. If it is activated during a siege, the fortification can be counted only after the siege is finished. It can be used even if the city is neutral.
If the CP card is active, the fortification will NOT be destroyed after a successful siege. But if the card is deactivated, the fortification should be removed.
(Note: of course the town cannot be fortified again if there is a fortification disc on it.)

Changed imperial strategy
French instant win if he builds a city in Fort Duquesne.

Fierce warfare
If you do not block an ambush, remove a vulnerable card from your hand, reserve or siege (in the last case, modify siege track accordingly).

British imperial redeployment
3 Regular Infantry cards are removed from the British available Empire cards (they cannot be bought).
Note: in the case of there are less than three RI in the Empire, only those cards are removed, it never affects the player's bought cards!
But if a RI is lost in a battle while this CP card is active and less than three is removed, then the RI card is removed from Empire deck immediately.

Trusted local leaders
Location cards can be put in Reserve.
Note: if the card is deactivated, it does not affect the Location cards already placed in the Reserve.

Well trained ambush leaders
A blocked ambush is not considered an action.

Well trained raid leaders
A blocked pillage is not considered an action.

Architect civilians in Quebec
One fortification disc in Quebec.
Note: it can not be activated if Quebec has a fortification. If it is activated during a siege, the fortification can be counted only after the siege is finished. It can be used even if the city is neutral.
If the CP card is active, the fortification will NOT be destroyed after a successful siege. But in the case the card is deactivated, the fortification should be removed.
(Note: of course the town cannot be fortified again if there is a fortification disc on it.)

Fur shortage
Both players can play a card with a "Fur" as a free action to gain 1 coin.

Improved command chain
When you discard, you may discard how many cards you like (for free).

Self governed locals
If you put a location card back into the available cards, then you lose control of that location.

Motivated natives
Natives have a military power of 1 and can be used during sieges.
Note: if the card is deactivated during a siege, the natives in the siege still counts, but no more natives can be played to the siege.

Improved bureaucracy
If you lose control of a location, you may remove its card from your hand as a free action.

---

Not suggested / not liked RRG cards:

???
French player can discard a card from his hand and draw a new one whenever a siege is resolved (before taking any action).

??? (Pacifist royal advisors?)
British player cannot start a siege until the French player starts one OR he has 25 Victory Points.

???
British player adds "Bateaux" card to his starting deck.

???
French player adds any one card from his Empire deck to his starting deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls