16 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Computer Based Board Gaming

Subject: Question for developers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joao Pedro
msg tools
mbmb
I am doing a paper on the development of games for tablets and mobiles. The scope is all types of videogames, not necessarily just digital board games.

I want to highlight 3 technical limitations when developing games for smartphones and tablets. I have pinpointed 2 already: fragmentation of hardware and software, and also the lack of physical buttons.

Game developers, what would be a 3rd limitation, in your opinion and experience?

Thanks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Smith
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not a game developer, but I could imagine:

- limited TIME: noone plays a smartphone app game that takes several hours (many will maybe play it FOR several hours, but then they play multiple games (of a single game))

and MAYBe also
- easy rules: I consider the average smartphone user, not to be willing to read several pages of rules! => also easy start

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Colombo
United States
Raleigh / Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
BlueLineGameStudios.com
badge
BlueLine Game Studios - Digital Tabletop games since 2011
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll add one more limitation to the mix: processing power for AI.

Users want good AI, but the number of CPU cycles you can get on a modern smart-phone doesn't compete with the amount of processing power from a modern computer.

Good luck with your paper!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Limited screen real estate to show UI. It's really hard to fit all information on the smalls screens. This applies more to phones than to tablets.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Monroe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb