Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Skim - net gain or zero sum? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jake Waltier
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Instructions for The Skim say that the Syndicate transfers resources to the faction in control of a location with 1 or 2 casinos. We took this to mean the Syndicate loses these resources and the controlling faction gains them. Is this accurate? I didn't see a technical explanation for the word "transfer".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Juri
Germany
München
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
That´s how I play it.
Syndicate don´t want to have no control over regions with only one Casino.
So, if Syndicate has two Casinos in a region with for example Government control, it would get 4 Resources and then hands 2 Resources over to the Gov.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Owens
United States
Chattanooga
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the Key Terms Index:

Quote:
Transfer — Give Resources or Cash to another Faction. (1.5.1)


So yes, the Syndicate gives resources to the controlling faction.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Waltier
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Grossman
United States
Grand Junction
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike is correct.

Historical background - my interpretation of the mob infrastructure at the beginning of Cuba Libre is that the mob is making modest profits with much of the proceeds going into Batista's coffers. Extraordinary measures (represented by cash markers) or expansion is required to really get the money rolling in.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vez A
Germany
Kiel
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Can I ask for another clarification on the skim, please.

Suppose the Govt's resources are already at the max (49) when the skim takes place. I know the rules (6.2.3) here say "any over 49 are lost" but I wonder lost by whom, the Syndicate or the receiving party, in our case the Govt?

I used to read 6.2.3 as saying that the skimmed resources are taken off the Syndicate's account but added to no one's account. But it occurred to me perhaps another reading is a possibility too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Your original reading was correct.

I guess you could say that the excess Skim Resources are lost to both factions - the Syndicate still have to pay them, but the recipient gains no benefit from them...

Regards, Oerjan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.